Dwelling in the Mysteries of This Journey

We’re in a season of neediness. Bea needs me to walk her to school, to pick her up, to sit beside her as she does homework. Elle needs me to read with her, to get her dressed, to make her lunch, to put her to bed.

IMG_5757These are needy times and it’s easy to imagine life when they can make their own lunches and do their own homework. (Does that ever happen?) But even in the midst of this intense time, the patronizing voice of moms farther along can be grating: Just hang in there. It gets better! Don’t worry moms of littles, this terrible season doesn’t last!

While I’m eagerly anticipating independence, I don’t think this is a terrible season. I know I’ll miss the days of neediness. Of snuggling on the couch and holding hands as we walk home from school. I’ll miss the ease in which secrets are shared and words of comfort are accepted.

I was reading Jan L. Richardson’s In the Sanctuary of Women this morning and she offers this blessing:

That you may have
the wisdom to know the story
to which God calls you,
the power to pursue it,
the courage to abide in its mysteries,
and love in every step.

This blessing can be applied to so much of my life right now, but today I’m choosing to frame it in this season of motherhood. That I may be wise to this story of raising small humans and that I may remember to love every step of this mysterious journey.

How does this blessing speak to your particular season? How are you learning to dwell in the mysteries and love every step of this journey?

Linked with Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is “accept.”

12 thoughts on “Dwelling in the Mysteries of This Journey

  1. As a mother I understand your season–as a grandmother I am blessed to have a new role with my daughters and the grandchildren. I’m grateful heart for the season I am in now. Blessings to you and your precious family!

  2. Do enjoy this time as it will end. Not suddenly, but slowly as they grow. And then when they don’t need you to help with lunches and homework, you will see they will need you for other things. It is hard to do but accepting this stage of your mommy-life does help you to enjoy the time.

  3. You bring back warm memories of those times with ours and how wonderful it is to know you’re needed and wanted. I’m adding that blessing to my quote file. Lovely.

  4. Love this, Annie…and I have to echo the advice above…enjoy this time.

    Even though my time has become fraught with pain and other bad things, I have learned to enjoy it. It takes some discipline, and the right, intentional attitude, but even sitting out on the porch, unable to do anything else and in tears…I can still feel the breeze on my face, and enjoy its calming benison.

Leave a Reply

