The Sweetness of Milestones

We walked to Bea’s new school the other day to meet her kindergarten teacher. When she started preschool, I didn’t cry. I saw how ready Bea was for that new adventure and it seemed so right for our family.

IMG_5702But as we walked through the halls of this big school, as friendly teachers and staff greeted us and helped us navigate our way to the new classroom, as we stood outside and peeked in, tears pricked my eyes. I realized what a milestone kindergarten will be, this embarkment into a great world of learning and discovery and independence.

Standing in the library later with the one family we knew from preschool, we talked about how this is it. For the next six years, this place will define our time and schedule. It will define a lot of our choices and how we respond to them. It will help shape our kids into the lifelong learners we’ve been hoping for already.

I’m incredibly excited for Bea to start kindergarten. She is ready and excited. She’s the type of student that will do just fine – friendly, kind, conscientious, a rule-follower. But, as with so many transitions, there’s something a little bittersweet. Our days of exploration and discovery at home are over. Our flexible schedule and ability to have midweek adventures are being traded for a wider world. It’s all good, but there is still a little heartache at seeing how quickly time really does speed along.

Life is bittersweet, isn’t it? What was your favorite grade in school? If you’re a parent, which transition was your favorite? And, did you cry on the first day of kindergarten?

Linked with Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is “place.”

25 thoughts on “The Sweetness of Milestones

  1. My favorite grade was my senior year of high school. I’d had a very hard time all the previous grades. I finally found my place my last year of school. I was in the band and there was nothing that could take that joy from me.

  2. Awwww, Annie. Kindergarten IS a transition for a mama’s heart. I had a hard time when my oldest started Kindergarten,cbutcIcstill had one little guy st home,changing outcwoth me each day. When He went to kindergarten and especially to first grade (from half day to full day)? That’s when I cried.

    You are wise to cherish each moment, each season. Praying as you embark on this new journey!

    1. Yes! It’s made me even more award and thankful for this year with Elle before preschool! Thinking of you with TWO middle schoolers this year!! That’s a transition!

  3. I didn’t cry at kindergarten. I cried the day my daughter left for college. Time goes so very fast. Savor it all.

    1. Oh, I don’t even want to think about college…. I remember feeling so bittersweet when I said goodbye to my parents – so excited but that realization that I was on my own was BIG.

  4. Sweet, sweet little name, Bea!

    Today, my daughter meets the parents of her new “babies”, her first graders and as clear as the morning, I’m remembering her in Kindergarten and my son as well.

    Sweet memories. Now an empty nester, I’ve begun to say “these are good times too” instead of longing for them as little ones and saying “those were the good days”

    Enjoy this year, I bet she’s excited to learn!

    Glad we connected.

    1. I love that perspective – to remember that each season is sweet and good. It’s easy to become nostalgic and I’m remembering that each phase is really so amazing. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I remember those kindergarten days. They are certainly bittersweet, but it sounds like you have a very healthy perspective on it–that should help you in the transition. I love the name “Bea” too!

  6. It does become a wider world when we experience the transitions of our children for sure! Having had to always work away from home, I think it had built a reliance in me when it came to them starting school. However, when they started moving out of our home, it was a hard transition!

    1. Yes – I’m looking forward to that wider world, of meeting new families and friends. Isn’t funny that I still want to hold her close, though? Oooh, moving out? Glad I still have some years to process that one!! Thanks for stopping by!

  7. You’re right! It will be good but it’s still bittersweet! Prayers as you all navigate through this transition. I’m in the 62 spot.

  8. Life is bittersweet, isn’t it? What was your favorite grade in school? If you’re a parent, which transition was your favorite? And, did you cry on the first day of kindergarten?
    My favorite was 6th grade. Had a fantastic teacher, Mrs. Chapman. She read The Secret Garden to us.
    As a parent, mynfavorite transition for both of my boys was as they became adults. I love our adult repatio ships. I did not cry for any of my kids’ transitions. I loved seeing them grow up and meet new worlds.

    1. Books certainly have made my favorite teachers! How magical to remember the Secret Garden… The adult transition must be the most interesting – how are they actually going to put into practice all you’ve modeled?

  9. It definitely is a weird feeling when your first enters the wide world of school! I felt a little stunned, I think.. like I couldn’t quite believe we had managed to get there. He was fine- loved it and so ready, but it sure is a milestone to celebrate and remember!

  10. I’m not a parent (thank God, I’d be a lousy one), and I hated learning. Liked school, though. I had a difficult childhood and by the time I reached fifth grade I was carrying a .45 automatic. (I should say I attended a Brit private school, k-12 in one place).

    No one, from the Head on down, gave me static. They asked that I please not shoot anyone on campus. Otherwise they left me alone.

    This is perhaps not typical, and in these days would make headlines. But back in the day, it was not completely alien. The government would not protect kids from home-grown predators; and so kids protected themselves.

  11. Yes, life is bittersweet. I haven’t had a favorite stage in parenting. I’ve enjoyed them each one for different reasons. My oldest just graduated. I am enjoying watching him spread his wings and seeking what God’s plan is for his life. Also despite what people say, I’ve found the teen years especially delightful! They are nothing to fear. 😉

    1. It must be so amazing watching your kids fly – to see what sticks and what they make their own and how they process everything. I’m looking forward to the teen years, though am recognizing the particular sweetness of these little years, too…

Leave a Reply

