Being Content with More

Mo! Again! Mo! One of my favorite learning-to-speak mix-ups is when Elle confuses more with again. I’ll be spinning her in her swing and she’ll shriek in the midst of laughter, mo! mo! ag’n! While making cookies, she’ll lick the batter, demanding, ag’n, mo!

IMG_3210Already, she’s outgrowing this sweet mix-up, understanding that more is used for quantities and again is used for an experience. I love that she’s understanding words and language but it’s a reminder that these sweet explorations are fleeting and that, before we know it, she’ll be articulating her wants and needs in full and clear sentences.

There are so many times I feel like all I can say is mo! without much articulation. When I stopped working,  my mom offered to take Elle once a week while Bea is at preschool. I decided to use this time for me – not for errands or chores. So, on Mondays I have two quiet hours to write or plan or do something that is significantly more challenging with kids around.

I’ve already noticed a change in having these hours but I see others who are farther on the journey and think, If only I had more… More time, more creativity, more direction.

I’m not content to recognize this gift of time and the slow process of getting better at something. I often think my journey needs to mirror the journeys around me. As I type this, I know this is silly but the feelings are still there when I’m feeling discouraged.

I’m learning to be grateful for more and to recognize that more looks different in different seasons and for different people.

Where is an area of your life or your time when you wish for more? How do you find time for more?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is “more.”

10 thoughts on “Being Content with More

  1. Great post, and love the picture, Annie!

    The only thing I’m asking more of these days is what others don’t want – more pain, more fatigue, and so on. It occurred to me a while back that there may be only so much pain and torment floating around out there, and that if I was given more than my share, someone else might have a bit less.

    It’s a sneaky sort of thing – but if this may be true, I can’t really turn away from asking for more of the bad. Let someone else have health and wealth; let me bear their pain.

    I guess it boils down to Isaiah 6 – And the Lord asked, ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I; send me.”

    #1 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2017/04/your-dying-spouse-303-give-me-lord-what.html

    1. Thanks! I love your attitude – here I am, send me. I often don’t really think about what that means – that it often means more than I would initially be willing to give.

  2. “I’m not content to recognize this gift of time and the slow process of getting better at something. I often think my journey needs to mirror the journeys around me.” Yes, I feel like this often too. I feel like no matter far I’ve come I’m still behind; that I should some how be further along at this point in my life. In this area, I find it so hard to be content.

    1. I know I shouldn’t compare, but it’s so hard not to…. I wonder if this will be my eternal life-lesson? To be content in where I am and to live fully in this moment.

  3. True: “I’m learning to be grateful for more and to recognize that more looks different in different seasons and for different people.” I’m in the 50 spot this week.

Leave a Reply

