Feeling Satisfied but Not Full

I love meals that begin with champagne and end with port. One of my all-time favorites was a date night at the now closed Le Bar Lyonnais in the basement of the super-fancy Le Bec Fin in Philadelphia. Frank and I dressed up, even for this more casual venue, we spent hours eating beautiful food, paired each course with its correct drink, and left feeling full-but-not-stuffed.

IMG_1498
Champagne in Yellowstone

One of my favorite splurges is going to fancy restaurants and eating slowly for an evening. The portion sizes always leave room for the next course and I leave feeling satisfied but never over-full.

I’ve been thinking about life lately and how easy it is to stuff it full – to add activities and commitments and all the good things that build into relationships and community. It can be hard to say no when every single thing is life-giving.

But I want to be satisfied, not full. I want our days to be filled with goodness but not stressful. I can be very protective of our schedule, trying to find that balance.

I wonder if heaven is like eating at a super-fancy restaurant? We are satisfied but not full. We have enough time for all the goodness without all the stress.

What is your favorite fancy restaurant? What are ways you feel satisfied but not full?

Linking with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is “enough.”

18 thoughts on “Feeling Satisfied but Not Full

  1. I love this description of heaven! I also love the long lingering meals where conversation is as important as the food. Those kinds of dates with an unhurried pace are so rare, but when they happen I just want to soak them in. Thanks for the important reminder that more is not better.

  2. I think satisfied not full is a perfect way to put it, Annie. I like that feeling too — even though I don’t think I have ever had a dinner that began with champagne and ended with port. Sounds very “Downton Abbey” to me! 🙂 But yeah: better to be satisfied with things that are truly life-giving than overstuffed with things that aren’t.

    1. I wish I had more meals like that in my life, but they are fun when I can get them. 🙂 Pausing to sort through the things that aren’t can feel overwhelming, but it so worth it.

  3. Being full can be uncomfortable. I am trying to learn to hold out for the best mouthful instead of stuffing myself, afraid I won’t get enough. This is a metaphor for many ways I live.

  4. I’ve had a few of those kind of meals. Served in a way meant for diners to enjoy over time, not gorge to move us in and out for the next patrons. Those are the most satisfying. That’s a wonderful way to think of what Christ offers us even here on earth. It will only be better in eternity with him.

    1. I love those glimpses of heaven, here on earth. Such a reminder that God truly wants what’s best for us, and that we can savor these good things. I guess a lot of a slow meal is about mentality shift, which is a lot of my relationship with God, too…

  5. Favourite fancy restaurant is unquestionably Tao in uptown NYC. Their kung pao chicken is exquisite.

    It’s taken me years to learn that moderation is best in all things…even exercise, and that was the hardest lesson of all. Running seven miles every day (back when I was healthy) was fine; running twelve caused damage, and it took a deliberate act of will to go back to seven…I really WANTED those extra five miles.

    So I made up for it in the gym. HA! 😀

    #1 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2017/04/your-dying-spouse-294-famous-last-words.html

    1. Ooh! Bea is begging for a trip to NYC so we’re thinking this October…. I’ll have to keep that place in mind, if we get a chance. 😉 My dad, a former marathoner, had to learn that: Is it about the enjoyment of the run or the milage clocked?

      1. Put Tao on your itinerary. It’s near Central Park. You will not be disappointed.

        Running…for me it was a mater of going against type. I’m built like LOTR’s Gimli; even now, after years of illness, I still have a 50-inch chest and 32-inch waist on a 5’9″ frame (yeah, that’s not a pretty sight). People thought I’d be terrible at distance running. I decided to prove them wrong.

  6. I see some similarities in the hearts of our posts, Annie. I love when God does that. 🙂 Savoring the beautiful food and perfectly paired drink sounds like a wonderful way to spend an evening with your husband.

    One time, when we lived in Las Vegas, we took some friends to an all-you-can-eat buffet, and I’ll tell you, I left so full I wanted to be sick. I vowed I’d never eat that much again. I much prefer the idea of savoring food at a leisurely pace and enjoying the person I’m eating with.

    There’s a restaurant my hubs has taken me to a few times. It’s in an historic building, and it’s called the Briarhurst Inn. The food is amazing. We only go once, maybe twice a year, but I always love the time we have there. 🙂

    1. I love that, too! 🙂 I am a terrible buffet eater! I never get my money’s worth because I am so overwhelmed by choice! I’ve been to weddings at the Briarhurst, but never for dinner… May have to add it to our list!

    1. PS- Have you read N.T. Wright’s “Surprised by Hope”? I love how he describes heaven as doing what we’re passionate for. So, we’ll have all the amazing chefs creating in ways they just couldn’t here on earth.

Leave a Reply

