Learning the Language of Life

Anyone who knows Bea knows that she is an incredibly verbal kid. She’s articulate and inquisitive and has an impressive vocabulary. But, she’s also 4 and so is still figuring out language. She’ll use words that are mostly correct, though a different word would probably have been a better fit. Her grammar is almost perfect, except when it’s not. It reminds me of when I try to speak French – almost but not quite.

IMG_4047One of Bea’s favorite words is expect. She uses it correctly: I was expecting eggs for breakfast! And slightly off: I am expecting to have a great day at school! Right now, it’s sweet and endearing and reminds me that she is still four.

Sometimes I feel like my own definition of words and of life can be like that. Mostly correct but slightly off. Whether it’s how we want a weekend to look like or bigger life decisions, I feel like I’m still learning the language of adulthood, trying out new ideas and values without being completely fluent.

I know that as season change and we start kindergarten next year… and then middle school… and then college… that I’ll always be learning the new language of life. That I’ll never be quite fluent. But, I suppose that’s the fun of it all, right?

I wish I was as confident to try out new words and ideas without overthinking, knowing that I’ll eventually get it right.

How do you approach new phases in life? With enthusiastic abandon or with thoughtful caution?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. This week’s prompt is “define.”

8 thoughts on “Learning the Language of Life

  1. This post made me smile. I can approach new phases with both abandon or caution, depending on the new phase 🙂 But I have discovered as I let Him define me in those phases, I am at peace with myself.I am glad to have stopped here this morning!

  2. Thanks for sharing that lovely anecdote of your daughter. It’s so fun when kids try out language. My son Jonathan is 14 and developmentally disabled as well as on the autism spectrum, and his language is very simple. He does not use the word “comb” very often (probably because he doesn’t use an actual comb very often!), so when he sees a comb on the bathroom counter he calls it a “pine cone.” 🙂

    I think you’re right that trying out new phases in life IS like trying new words or languages. It takes a long time to feel fluent and then often we are into another stage. And to use Bea’s word “expect”: our expectations of what a particular season is going to involve can be completely wrong. If I had known parenting was going to mean being mom to 2 kids on the autism spectrum — well, I just didn’t expect that. It’s a challenge to stay open and trusting. Thanks for writing today: I really like what you did with this word “define.”

    Jeannie (#30 in the FMF linkup this week)

    1. Oh yes… My expectations for certain seasons are often not how they turn out! (Which is not always a bad thing!) I’m learning that perhaps fluency shouldn’t be the end goal – to focus more on the journey. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

