What are You Listening To? #trypod

fb_posts_1200x630px_v1-03_custom-e4086d6620fe799b7340101e65506f35aeffa446-s1200
image source: NPR

NPR has declared March the month to Try a Podcast, or #trypod. I’m pretty new to the world of podcasts – most of our car music is geared to my preschool passengers and I just can’t seem to focus on talking while I’m doing chores.

But there are three and a half podcasts I listen to constantly. If not every episode, then most. Because (according to NPR) people listen to podcasts based mostly on recommendations, I thought I’d share and I hope you share yours, too!

Smartest Person in the Room
This is my “half” listen. Laura Tremaine tackles topics such as Hollywood and Religion. I find if I’m interested in the series, I’ll listen to the whole thing. But if I’m not, I just skip it. The nice thing is that the seasons are set up to do just that and as she creates more episodes, there will be more to draw from.

Sorta Awesome
I’ve been listening to Sorta Awesome for almost a year. It’s a fun, breezy, girlfriendy sort of show. I think it satisfies the voyeur in me – I feel like I’m eavesdropping on a fun conversation. Some topics totally resonate, others don’t. I’ve learned that abandoning an episode is ok. But I still look forward to their new ones each Friday.

Popcast
This is another one I’ve learned to abandon if I just don’t connect. I’m not hugely into pop culture, so a lot of the references are lost on me. But the dynamic between Knox and Jamie is wonderful and this is the podcast that, if I need to laugh until I get teary, I’ll turn to. They manage to find the balance between teasing and making fun of people that makes life a little lighter.

Harry Potter and the Sacred Text
Now that I’ve finally read (and loved!) the Harry Potter series, I’m also loving all things Potter-realated. This is a beautiful discussion on how to look at a fantasy series aimed at young readers as a sacred text. Each episode focuses on one chapter, so I’m still in the first season. But I savor each episode and always walk away with a new perspective. Caspar and Vanessa make incredible connections and dive deeper into the text and our current culture. I can’t recommend this one highly enough!

Are you into podcasts? What are your favorites?

2 thoughts on “What are You Listening To? #trypod

  1. Im trying to get more into podcasts too. Annie F Downs That Sounds Fun and Holly Barrett’s Living a redeemed Life are great. I have a friend who does one called The Hell with the Hotdish. It’s about faith. I really want to check it out too.

Leave a Reply

