Creating Safe Spaces

I recently worked through the process of writing a personal mission statement. I’m still holding the phrase close, seeing how it fits, and taking time to see areas in my life in which it’s already present.

One part of the phrase is that I create safe spaces. As I was talking this through, my coach and I noticed places that safe spaces already exist in my life.

img_3194Our messy playroom is a safe space for the girls to explore, discover, and create.

A recent decision to step back from commitments has created a safe space for me to be more open about our current season.

We have a housecleaner come on a (very!) occasional basis. Instead of feeling guilty that I can’t keep our house sparkling, a friend reminded me that it helps me create a safe space to invite others in – and it’s ok to ask for help in that.

As we plan out tax season and schedule in time for family, I’m guarding that time and keeping it sacred. Getting together with friends and building community is important; Keeping our scant family time together is even more so.

A friend recently wrote a post about finding peace in the noise and I’m remembering that self-care is important. It’s a privilege, for sure, but it’s nonetheless an important one to remember.

In a world of chaos, I’m thankful for the reminder of checks-and-balances. For means and ways to create a safe place for myself, for my family, for our friends, and for our community.

I’m holding this part of my mission close and seriously. How can I best help others feel secure?

How do you make space for safety?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is “safe.”

10 thoughts on “Creating Safe Spaces

  1. I too have been embracing creating routines of regular self-care. It is amazing how creating safe space for ourselves does the opposite of what you would expect. It may temporarily shelter or isolate us, but only as a tool for us to tackle bigger adventures and challenges when the time is right.

  2. Love this. Your post resonates with the season in our lives. Last winter I had to pull back from obligations and start fresh to hear God right. It has been a journey since then, of learning not to over commit and find rest while living and serving from that place.

    1. Right? The moment I stepped back, I started looking for other areas to fill that space. And then realized that I was continuing the cycle. It feels good to not be busy, but is taking time for it to become the norm.

  3. What a good question to consider. How do I help others feel secure. In our ministry, I think I do that by not making people feel judged when they share their struggles or past. It’s easier to identify in that area. I’ll to consider it more when it comes to that in friendships and family.

  4. THIS: “In a world of chaos, I’m thankful for the reminder of checks-and-balances. For means and ways to create a safe place for myself, for my family, for our friends, and for our community” I’m in the 62 spot this week.

  5. Popping over from FMF. I love your intention to BE a safe space for someone else and the ways your coach helped you identify safe spaces you’ve already created. Often times others can see clearly what we can’t. Thanks for your thoughts here!!

    1. It was such a reminder of going to someone outside my immediate circle for clarity! And the idea that I am the safe space – that was changing for me. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

