Review: What Falls from the Sky by Esther Emery + Giveaway

In less than a month, we’ll be entering one of the most popular seasons of the church calendar, when Jesus asked his disciples to give up Facebook for 40 days. (Excluding Sunday check-ins, as part of breaking the fast, of course.) I can’t condemn this practice at all – I have given up or put extreme limits on social media during Lent and it’s always been a needed breath of air.

_140_245_book-2130-coverGiving up social media for a month or a short season is one thing. All internet (and internet related conveniences) for a year? That’s an entirely different sort of fast. This is exactly what Esther Emery does – no internet, no cell phones, no debit cards for an entire year.

When I first read the synopsis for What Falls from the Sky, I wondered what kind of “year long experiment memoir” this would be. I should have known better. Emery’s honest writing and keen observations on life made this much less an experiment in living without internet and much more the type of memoir that makes all other memoirs pale in comparison.

Emery’s story of moving from Southern California to the Boston suburbs while simultaneously making ties to community – both old and new – much more difficult in this technology age is not at all what my current life looks like. And yet, the lessons she learns and the powerful storytelling she uses drew me in. I felt like I was walking alongside this year of challenges and struggles. I found myself assessing our own life choices in new ways and through a different perspective.

Emery gracefully blends her own story into a greater picture. She draws the reader into her own details without ever making it seem like her choices should be anyone’s but hers alone. There is no pressure to live life by her choices – this is a tale of what happens to Emery and her family because of those.

I haven’t enjoyed a memoir like this in quite some time and Emery restored my love of this genre. If you’re looking for a thought-provoking, beautifully written story, I’d highly recommend What Falls from the Sky.

What is your relationship with the internet? Do you need to take intentional fasts from social media or have you found a natural balance?

GIVEAWAY! I am giving away my copy of What Falls from the Sky. Leave a comment about giving up the internet and I’ll randomly select a winner on Friday, February 10, 2017. (United States addresses only.)

I review for BookLook Bloggers
I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

11 thoughts on “Review: What Falls from the Sky by Esther Emery + Giveaway

  1. I can’t even imagine. I had a recipe saved on Pinterest that I wanted to make last night. When I clicked the button to “make it” it couldn’t connect to the site. I had all the ingredients listed but no instructions. A glaring reminder of how dependent I’ve (we’ve) become on technology. Last night I threw caution to the wind and made the recipe anyway. The blueberry loaf is delicious! 🙂

  2. One Lent I attempted to give up Facebook … I ended up checking it about once a week. I admire Esther’s commitment to unplugging! I didn’t realize she lives in a Boston suburb. Looking forward to reading this book.

    1. I know, I do like to check in. Especially since it is how people keep in touch. The connecter in me has trouble letting that go… The book takes place during their years in Boston, but now they’re in Idaho (I think?)

  3. Last year, I fasted from sugar AND social media in the same month….scary! I saw how overly attached I’d gotten to it; feeling as if I wasn’t connected to anyone unless I was getting “likes” and page views. All the while, becoming more and more disconnected from real live people. I don’t feel I need to do it again because after that experience, I drastically limited my social media interaction. However, if I ever feel the need again, I’ll drop it like a hot potato. I want more live connections that cyber ones.

Leave a Reply

