Instinct as Answered Prayer

Mom? Mama? Mom? Mom? MOM???? YOU ARE INTERRUPTING ME!!

img_2319If I don’t immediately pause my conversation or activity, Bea often feels that I’m interrupting her. We then get into a circular conversation that no, she is interrupting me. And so it continues…

Sometimes I wonder if this is how my communication with God looks. God will be preparing something or answering a prayer but I continue to interrupt, impatient for an “answer” or a “clear plan.” Instead of listening, I demand that action happens now and my own circular conversation ensues.

I guess what’s hard is that sometimes action needs to be immediate; sometimes I need to trust my own instinct. It’s quite rare for me to hear a booming voice from the heavens answering my questions and yet I’m still learning that God has given me intuition as a valuable way of discerning the world.

I’m not saying that I know the right way or that my own way is the best way. But I’m learning to sit in the quiet; to find light in the darkness; and to remember that the Creator God has created me to understand far more than I realize.

I look to Mary, who grappled and asked and then trusted and pondered that trust quietly. In this season of anticipation, I remember that God does answer but it’s more of a conversation and perhaps God is pausing, too.

How does your conversation with God look? How do you find the answers?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is Now.

8 thoughts on “Instinct as Answered Prayer

  1. Sometimes we may be like your little girl, demanding answers from God. Like her, we need to learn patience and that He will give us what we need when the time is right.

  2. I believe he wants us to act with the spiritual gifts we are given. Sometimes I pray, ‘I did this today because I felt it was right. Shall I walk further down this path”?

  3. Wow, I love your intro, Annie. How many times do I approach God that way? Kind of like the kiddo tugging on her Daddy’s pant leg…”Daddy? Daddy? DADDY!” 🙂 Yep, I’ve been that girl.

    My conversation with God is sometimes one-sided. I tend to be the one doing the talking and then I move onto the next thing on my plate for the day. NOT the best way to really communicate with God. 🙂 I’m gradually learning to bring everything before Him—big and small, and then to listen so He can respond. It’s hard to stop and listen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

