Hidden Treasures

One year, when I was an early teenager, we were visiting my grandparents. I remember pulling a box down from a high closest shelf with my grandma and opening its treasures. It was filled with memorabilia from her high school days at a boarding school back east. Assembly bulletins, a calendar filled with squares reading “lunch with Stinky” and other girlfriend dates. We looked through these treasures and she told stories about her friends and schooldays.

Years later, we helped pack up my grandparent’s house – the one they’d lived in for over 40 years. I’m sure that box was thrown out in the shuffle. There came a point in the packing and donating and garage sale-ing that so many things were deemed memorable-but-not-keepable. After 40 years, downsizing can be brutal.

Just a couple years ago, we packed up our own small house and moved into a bigger one, as we anticipated growing our family. I came across a box of journals, but mixed in were also day planners – those books from the days before relying on my calendar app. I sat down and flipped through it: “lunch with Cece;” “Baroque & Rococo paper due;” “day trip to Reims” filled the pages of my years in Paris. “Lunch with Frank” repeated over and over from my planner during our early days of dating.

I was tempted to throw out my old planners – it had been years since I’d last looked through them – but the memories came back fresh and I imagined one day pulling this box out for a granddaughter and reminiscing over these hidden memories again.

Are you a saver? Do you like to keep bits of memorabilia or do you purge and remain minimalist?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is “hidden.”

12 thoughts on “Hidden Treasures

  1. Hi Annie! Stopping by from Five Minute Friday. What sweet memories! I am a minimalist in some ways and others not. I love to purge things! But what a precious reason to hang on to things that will become meaningful to future generations. My mom wrote in a week-at-a-glance calendar as a prayer journal, and after she passed away, I’d spend hours reading them as a way to “spend time with her.” They are a treasure to me, even if I don’t pull them out often. But they contained some very private thoughts I realized were just between her and the Lord, so I struggle at times with what to do with my journals, which contain so much private but also so many lessons, revelations and blessings from the Lord too. Thanks for sharing. Lots to think about. Blessings!

    1. What a wonderful memory! With a lot of things, I’m a minimalist, but there are certain notes & journals & things that I just can’t get rid of. Thanks for sharing & stopping by!

  2. I’m more on the minimalist side but the things I decorate with or keep carry memories from places or specific seasons in my life.

  3. Annie, your post came at the perfect time. 🙂 I am a saver, but purging can make me ridiculously happy. I’ve been doing a brutal purge vin my project room, which has become the junk room. I’ve gone through dozens of papers and folders, deciding what to save ans what to toss. I have a memorabilia box, as well, which I went through.I kept much of what it holds, but tossed some things. Your post reminds me not to be too brutal in my desire to open up space in our home and my soul. 🙂

    1. I do love purging! Especially clothes!! I go through season and phases and always thing that if it’s sentimental and I’m questioning it, I’ll save it for the next round. Sometimes I’ll get rid of it then… 😉 I want to get a small box to throw things in – Bea’s first Mother’s Day note written by her, etc.

  4. I’ve just done this very thing Annie! I’ve kept old calendars from when our kids were little with things written in the squares like “soccer game”, “field trip”, “spring program” and all kinds of church events and Dr’s appointments. It felt so hard to let them go. But I did. Finally. These are the best kind of hidden treasure. Meaningful to no one else but me.

  5. Love the way you developed this, Annie.

    I have found that while I tend to be a saver, it’s not for sentimental reasons. It can sometimes be jolly useful to be able to lay hands on a bit of correspondence from many years back.

    I don’t hold my past close; most of it was rather unpleasant, and I prefer to remain in a perpetual ‘now’, looking neither forward nor back.

    #1 at FMF this week

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/07/your-dying-spouse-187-hidden-song-of.html

    1. Thanks, Andrew! The perpetual now is certainly a tough one to achieve, but so much sweeter than looking toward the past or future constantly…. Thanks, as always, for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

