Lazy Summer

After a month in no-schedule summer-mode, Bea’s had a week of morning Vacation Bible School at her preschool. It’s been a fun week – projects, games, seeing some of her teachers, and best of all: Hanging out with teenagers!!

Because our mornings are full again, we haven’t done much else. Both girls need afternoon naps, and I look forward to an afternoon rest as well. (Depending on the day, nap overlap can vary between 10 minutes and a full hour.)

While it’s been a good experience and I’m so glad we signed up for VBS, it’s also been a good reminder of the need to keep summer as summer. No agendas, low-key playdates, swimming, biking, spontaneity.

IMG_1114It’s easy to plan up the rest of the summer. We have a few road trips coming up and some camping with friends. A lot of our friends are signed up for really fun things – fairy ballet camp and art camp and gardening camp. It’s tempting to see if there are spots averrable – how cool would it be to hang out at the Botanic Gardens, going on scavenger hunts all morning?

And then I see Elle absolutely light up and start laughing as we walk home from VBS. She’s missed Bea all morning. It makes me think that school starting in the fall will be hardest on her. I see how much fun it is to lounge and just be together – even on the long days.

And so we sit in this moment and soak it in, remembering that time flies and we won’t have long summers of rest forever. Soon they’ll be filled with other amazing, fun activities and I’ll embrace this new season. For now, I’m glad we are able to slow down and breathe for a bit.

Do you like lazy summers or do you thrive on activities? What’s your ideal way to rest?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is “rest.”

8 thoughts on “Lazy Summer

  1. Hi there, I’m your neighbour on the left at FMF, we are approaching winter holidays here and I’m greatly looking forward! I like your approach of taking it easy with no over plan! Enjoy the rest of your vacation, Jenneth

  2. Our summers are slowish one week and stuffed full the next it seems. It’s hard to find a groove for me but I’m trying to not look too far ahead so I miss the moment.

  3. Yes, keeping summers as summers!! I think this is why I yearn for those summers so much now that my kids are older and I am working…because they were precious and restful times of reading and swimming and lots of play! We’re also writing on rest at Fresh Market Friday Link-up. Sounds like everyone is in search of the same peace. Crystal~

Leave a Reply

