A Chaotic Haven

Home improvement shows are my go-to veg option. Especially during tax season, when I can watch whatever I want, I’ll spend my evenings with Chip and Jojo or the Property Brothers, looking at beautiful homes made even nicer. (We watched one of these with a friend visiting from Zimbabwe and it was so uncomfortable watching people make their “must have” list and share the amount of money they had to spend. But that’s a post for another day…)

IMG_1014.jpgI always laugh when a couple talks about wanting a master suite that can function as a retreat away from the kids. At the reveal, it’s always beautifully styled with a throw tossed across a perfectly made bed, a fire in the fireplace.

When we first found this house, we loved the master suite for that very reason. It has a little nook for chairs and a fireplace. We envisioned this space as a place to reconnect, to unwind from parenting, to use as a haven from the rest of our house.

Of course, it’s not. The small bookshelf between our chairs holds our books and a variety of the girls’ favorites. Toys are strewn across the floor each morning as I take my shower. Our big bathtub isn’t used for baths but as a kind of playpen for Elle as we get ready.

Perhaps one day, our white bedspread will always be wrinkle-free, but for now it’s hastily made each morning and the throw pillows are used for forts.

I realize our haven isn’t relaxing and that we could probably train our girls to stay out of our room. But, is that the point of our home? To have rooms that are off-limits? I guess, before long, they will view their own rooms as a quiet haven from the rest of the house, but for now, they want to be near. And (most days) I’m ok with that.

Which home improvement shows are your favorite? Is your room off-limits or do your kids have full run of the house?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is “haven.”

8 thoughts on “A Chaotic Haven

  1. Oh, Annie, if you could see our house! As I write this there are seven dogs having breakfast within five feet of me. And there are more in the next room, waiting impatiently.

    Having worked in parts of the world in which life, much less a gracious home, was sometimes an unobtainable luxury, I never really understood the home improvement thing…I mean, if it has walls and the roof doesn’t leak and the plumbing works (and you HAVE plumbing) you’re so far ahead of the rest of the world that it’s just not funny.

    I sleep on an ottoman in the main kennel area to be available for the guys who have nightmares. Not only kids need to be held, and rocked to sleep. And an ottoman isn’t bad. It’s better than a dirt floor. I’m one of the world’s blessed.

    Point being…haven is the choice of appreciation and gratitude. You’ve got it in spades, and I salute you!

    #2 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/06/your-dying-spouse-163-saving-strawberry.html

  2. Yep… Such a choice! I so need to remember that on the hard days – we have running water and beds to snuggle in. We are warm and healthy and fed. And, there’s truly a haven in that perspective. Thanks for the reminder!

  3. Oh goodness, I love that your bathtub doubles as a playpen when you are getting ready. So ingenious. We share a love of home improvement shows and I think one of the reasons I like them is the idea of a master suite retreat. It’s part of my ‘someday’ dream. Right now, we’re good with the rumpled comforter and left behind toys too. It is a picture of time well spent. Thanks for taking five to share today.

    1. One day…. But I’m sure when “one day” comes, I’ll miss these chaotic days. 😉 The bathtub was out of desperation, but we go with what works, right? Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I love watching home improvement shows too. I always think people’s lists and budgets are crazy too. Eventually your girls will see their rooms as their haven, but now they love being close to you and that’s totally ok. I still owe you an email about when I’m in Colorado. I’m in the #8 spot this week.

    1. Yes! Do let me know 🙂 I keep reminding myself – before too long, we most likely won’t be able to get them out of their rooms. Until then… Embracing this chaos!

  5. Life has its seasons. I’ve never made my bedroom a permanent off limit area to my kids. However, there are times I close the door. They need to knock.

    My bedroom is many things. I’ve never planned on it being a haven, but it is the place I go to have my time out from life.

    I don’t often watch home improvement shows, but I am often amazed at what people can do with a little creativity.

    I’m visiting from FMF.

    1. Those shows are inspiring! (Though, we’re not handy, so just dreams!) I do my quiet time (during nap time!) in my bedroom. For some reason, I’m able to concentrate better there – probably because I can’t see other chores! 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

