Wildflowers & Cultivation

IMG_0813We recently put a new bookshelf in the girls’ playroom. It’s much taller and, because I had a few boxes of books from my teaching years in the basement, is already nearly full. It was so fun pulling out the books I kept – Fancy Nancy, Frog and Toad, science books. Bea loved looking through the new treasures.

A book I used to read to my class at the beginning of each year has become a new favorite. Mrs. Spitzer’s Garden is about a teacher who plants and cultivates her garden over the course of a school year. One of my favorite lines in it is,

“A few are like wildflowers and will grow anywhere you put them.

And some need gentle care, a special watching over.”

As a teacher, it was a great reminder of certain kids. But as a parent, I find this analogy beautiful for each phase, each activity, each new place we’re at in this developmental process.

Some things come quickly and easily – Bea picks up words and social skills without effort. Watching her navigate her world, making connections, and recognizing patterns in the world around her is amazing. It’s not necessarily something we’ve taught, but like a wildflower, Bea has picked it up quickly.

Other things, like swimming and sleep and sitting through a meal have taken time. We’ve needed to cultivate and care and watch over these activities in hopes that a foundation is laid for the future.

It’s a reminder for me, too. Some things come easily for me and others take work and cultivation. But each are beautiful – each produce amazing flowers and unique qualities.

Do you identify more with wildflowers or flowers that need more care?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. This week’s prompt is Grow.

 

12 thoughts on “Wildflowers & Cultivation

  1. This is good stuff. I can see areas of both in my life. Some things come easy and others take some real effort.
    That’s a great quote from that book. I will have to look that up at our library. We also love lots of books. Have you ever read Morris the Moose books? They are older (1970’s 80’s) but I absolutely love them!
    Happy Friday to you! (Your neighbor at fmf)

  2. Great post, Annie. I haven’t heard of that book. I wish I’d known about it when I was a teacher. It sounds like the perfect one to set a good tone in a classroom. šŸ™‚ Depending on my season, sometimes I’m a wildflower, and sometimes I’m a flower that needs deliberate cultivation. šŸ™‚

    1. Thanks, Jeanne! My aunt (a teacher of 30+ years) sent it to my for my first year. I think it was an unfair question – seasons and natural gifts definitely determine wildflower status…. But, I need to remember to see the beauty in all.

  3. Oh, I’m definitely a wildflower. Plant me somewhere new and I’ll grow into the conditions. But there is something to the deep care and cultivation of a planned garden that can surprise and startle you too and the patience, every growing. Frog and Toad were some of our favorites too. Check out the Brambly Hedge books if you ever get the chance.

    1. It’s such a reminder! I love lilies and “fancy” flowers in vases at home. But, I’m always blown away by the beauty of wildflowers when we’re out hiking. Both are so important. I’ll definitely check out Brambly Hedge! Thanks šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

