Mod Podge Isn’t Easy

When I was a teacher, I banned the word easy from my classroom. It stemmed from kids who got their work finished quickly loudly complaining, That was too eeeeeeeasy! And then the kids who took longer (for whatever reason) would get discouraged because they weren’t as fast. But, fast wasn’t always best. Some of my slowest kids were my most meticulous and rarely needed to go back to fix things.

When I knew our class had mastered something, we’d do an activity and get to call it easy. The kids would make up rhymes: Easy peasy lemon squeezy macaroni cheesy! And we’d celebrate mastering a skill as a community.

Even with other adults, I try to restrict the use of easy. What’s easy for my super crafty friend is not at all easy for me. Anything involving mod-podge puts a project into the extremely difficult category, in my opinion. And I’m sure that things I call easy are not at all for others.

I’m learning to ask for help from others who find my difficult work easy. When I surround myself with people whose strengths are different, I find that not only do they help, but I learn that those difficult tasks perhaps aren’t as difficult after all.

Do you like to outsource difficult projects? How do you find the balance between learning something new and recognizing strengths in others?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is “easy.”

7 thoughts on “Mod Podge Isn’t Easy

  1. I’m glad you brought out that point that what’s easy for some is hard for another. We need to remind ourselves of that more often. Like maybe every day! 😉 I know my marriage is better because what’s hard for me comes to easy to him. And I definitely need to let him know that more often!

  2. Annie, one of the things I love about you is how you invite community into your life. It not only lifts up others when we ask for help with something-hard-for-us, it enables us to learn and connect. 🙂

    I agree with you, mod-podge is not my friend. 🙂 And as for my classroom (when I taught), and even with my boys, I limit the use of that word, Easy. For the exact reasons you did.

    Like you, I’m learning to ask for help with things I have trouble doing. Some difficult projects simply don’t get done. Others are accomplished with other hands helping my own.

    Stay warm this weekend, friend!

    1. It takes a certain vulnerability to ask, even with mod podge, doesn’t it? I think I write about it so often because it doesn’t come naturally, but I totally see the benefit of depending on community! You stay warm, too! (Crazy weather!!)

Leave a Reply

