Morning Reset

Yesterday I got my haircut. I had canceled in December and finally rescheduled – so needed! I made a new appointment so the same atrocity wouldn’t happen. When she gave me the card for two months out, I happily noted it was the day after tax season ended! Only two months to go!

And then I immediately switched to blech. Two whole months to go…. We’re still at the beginning.

unnamedI woke up this morning to Bea racing into the room, hooting like an owl. Goodmorninggoodmorninggoodmorning!!!! Elle crunched up and gave me a big smile. I yawned and said, Go find daddy.

He’s already at work! I slowly got out of bed, and while I was getting Bea’s breakfast, she sat down and said, Mom! Can you be my friend? Just be happy!

It immediately reset my attitude. Today is a new morning. No tiredness or grumpiness or disappointments from yesterday allowed. I had the choice to respond with a fresh page or with the attitude of doing this thing alone.

So I hugged my daughter, finished making her oatmeal, and we started fresh again, 20 minutes after we woke up.

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases,
    his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.

Lamentations 3:22-23

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. Today’s prompt is Morning.

10 thoughts on “Morning Reset

  1. Ugh. We have busy season with Iain’s job – January to March he is expected work far too much. Which means I too end up ‘working’ far too much. This year, he was on away work for 5 weeks and we moved in the middle of it. On Wednesday I had had enough and couldn’t take it any more. I had a bit of a breakdown and unfortunately scared the kids a little in the process. But it ended up acting as a reset button too and I’m coping a lot better since.

    It feels like forever in the midst of it, but it also flies by. I’m sure you find the same. And soon it’ll be spring and Frank will be out of the murky tax season and you’ll be able to hand a child or two over at a reasonable time in the evening.

    1. Oh, gosh. That is SO rough. Even though Frank’s hours are insane, I am so thankful he is in bed each night. It’s always brought to have those meltdowns, but I’m so thankful for the rests… Prayers for you during these months…

Leave a Reply

