Advent Day 17: You are Special

You are my friend
You are special
You are my friend
You’re special to me
You are the only one like you
Like you, my friend, I like you.

Fred Rogers

When Elle is upset, I sing her this song from Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood and she smiles and calms down. I love telling her that she is special – that there’s only one in this wonderful world like her.

Even on the hardest days, I love being a mom. My girls are amazing and fill me with wonder at all they discover. When I read about children who are not loved; who are not told that they are special; who do not grow up understanding that they are supported, it breaks my heart.

Father, we ask you to comfort children who do not know comfort from their parents. We ask your protection on children who are in vulnerable situations – either from politics or family choices. We ask that you surround them, that you give them someone who loves and supports them, who lets them know that they are special for who they are.

ButtonJoin us this season as we pray through Advent together. I have some beautiful guest posts and there’s space for your voice, too. I hope you join us – either by contributing or on your own.

2 thoughts on “Advent Day 17: You are Special

  1. I love watching and listening to the anticipation of Advent and Christmas through the eyes of a child. Your thoughts are a good reminder that it is “awe”some to all and that they need are prayers covering them.

Leave a Reply

