Advent Day 14: Looking Up

Anno Domini, 1980

We can identify: all of us journeymen,
preoccupied, bewildered, looking for prophets –
this is an era of cults, the Word in disguise so often
we cannot tell who is hustling whom.
But the stargazing countrymen heard the news,
or heard it true before the rest.
“God. God is with us,” having hillsides of time
to look up at the sky.

Nancy Nase Thomas

Excerpt from “A Widening Light: Poems of the Incarnation,” edited by Luci Shaw.

QO7vkUKsCZscw1AHZ4AutiChg9ElyFauoGJZU8VWAU4
Image courtesy of Debby Hudson.

I spend a lot of my time looking down – down at my nursing baby, down at my running-wild preschooler, down at my book, down at my phone. My inclination can often be head-down, let’s get through these holidays mode. As I learn to balance the quiet of Advent with the excitement of Christmas, may I look up like the shepherds. Up at the sky to experience “God. God is with us.”

This first appeared at SheLoves Magazine. Head over to read other reflections from the poetry of A Widening Light.

ButtonJoin us this season as we pray through Advent together. I have some beautiful guest posts and there’s space for your voice, too. I hope you join us – either by contributing or on your own.

One thought on “Advent Day 14: Looking Up

Leave a Reply

