Ordinary Brilliance

It’s not easy being green
It seems you blend in with so many ordinary things
And people pass you over ’cause you’re
Not standing out like flashy sparkles in the water
Or stars in the sky

But green’s the color of spring
And green can be cool and friendly-like
And green can be big like an ocean or important
Like a mountain or tall like a tree

-Joe Raposo

This week, one of my dearest friends came to visit. We don’t get to see each other often anymore, but when we do, time seems to have stood still. She travels and, while she’s settled down a bit since our younger days, is still living a life I envy on my low days of playroom clutter, whininess, and little sleep.

As we were talking, I made a depreciating joke about being a stay at home mom in the suburbs. And she reminded me that there’s a reason people raise their kids in the suburbs. And that the suburbs we chose are not the cookie-cutter suburbs. And that we are in a season that is enviable to others.

Ordinary brilliance from my bathroom skylight
Ordinary brilliance from my bathroom skylight

My other friend, Debby is spending the month of October writing about Ordinary Beauty – noticing these small, daily things that are really beautiful. She’s helped open my eyes to my own ordinary beauty. From a loved chair to the fact that I am able to stay home with my kids to the idea that this small blog, though not fancy or important, is perhaps what someone needs in a moment.

I’m remembering that, though “it’s not easy being green” and it’s not fancy or sparkly, it is part of life. Green is part of nature, of mountains, of the trees that surround our house. It’s in the beauty we talk about and drive to see. I need to remember that these small, ordinary moments are the stuff that makes a bigger, sparklier foundation to our life.

How do you take time to notice the ordinary beauty of your days?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

7 thoughts on “Ordinary Brilliance

  1. This is beautiful, and just what I needed today! I think as wives and moms and just being the women we are, we have moments where it’s hard to see past our normal everyday. I love the thought of green being the part of life that builds the foundation for others and that can make the ordinary moments seem extraordinary. Thank you for this!

  2. Oh, one more thing. The only real brilliance is found in the everyday, the moments that are repeated and thus, through the grit of the mundane, polished like a gem.

    I don’t care if I never see the Grand Canyon again, though it be the most beautiful landscape I have beheld.

    It is nothing compared to the Pit Bull who graciously serves as a pillow, when I collapse in the yard.

Leave a Reply

