What did you say?

Let’s make a wise choice, Bea.
What did you say? Why?

Hey Bea, it’s time to head out.
What did you say? Why?

Studying for her next round of questions
Studying for her next round of questions

I could keep going, but that’s what our conversations are looking like these days. You would think after living together for three years plus nine months in-utero, Bea would trust me a bit more. I don’t think I’m exaggerating when I say things rarely happen the first time I ask, even when doing something quickly would benefit Bea. (Hey Bea, want a cookie? -What did you say? Why?)

I know that 99% of this is the age and phase. Part of it is Bea figuring out her own opinions and ideas. Part of it is busyness – I think she truly doesn’t hear me sometimes. And part of it is just the eternal why stage. It’s like her response is automated, without any thought behind it.

As frustrating as it can be to constantly (constantly!!) hear What did you say? Why? I wonder if that’s how my relationship with God can be. When an opportunity comes along or a gift is given, rather than being thankful and recognizing a blessing, I ask, What did you say? Why?

Maybe I need to remember to trust a little more, to live life a little more faithfully, and to assess my own questioning nature.

Do you respond to situations quickly or do you stop to ask questions?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

11 thoughts on “What did you say?

  1. Kids have that natural questioning nature–you are so right! I am like that too, asking why, why, why. God says, trust, trust, trust. And go with me. Good story. Keep writing. Visiting from #fmfparty. Ever grateful @ spot #51.

  2. Age and busyness. Your post made me think of how, although I’m far past your little Bea’s age, age and busyness keep me from immediate obedience and how they impact my trust level. I’m older, more experienced, so I tend to think I know what I’m doing, that I can trust my own experience. Of course, life is so busy I often don’t stop to listen and focus on trusting God. Thank you for using your little one to share important truths to ponder. I’m so glad you’re a part of 5MF!!

    1. Yep! I definitely “think” I know what I’m doing…. Ah, the learning process! I think that’s the key – stopping to listen. When I rest, when I have moments of quiet, well… Trust seems a lot more natural. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Annie, great illustration. Kids are great at asking questions of us. I think God wonders why we ask so many questions if him too. I’m parked in the 11 spot this week.

  4. God does ask us to get like the little children. So maybe he doesn’t mind. Because as much as kids ask why (and it currently is driving me totally insane with my own 3 year old!) they also come around to trust our answer even when the answer is “because” or “I said so” or you try to explain concepts too complex for a three year old mind.

  5. Interesting insights. I’ve never had kids, nor have spent any real time around them. I was never one myself, if you get my drift.

    I tend not to stop to ask questions; my training and personal tendency is to react, usually quickly and sometimes kinetically, to any situation.

    Here from FMF, but as you know I am also a subscriber. #6 on FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2015/10/reaching-for-god-blogbattle.html

Leave a Reply

