The Thirties

Even though I’m only a few years in, the thirties has been a great decade. Granted, I’ve looked forward to these years for a while. As a teenager, planning my life, the thirties seemed to be the decade where everything comes together: After living in the selfish twenties, my thirties would be where I figured out life.

In 10 years, she'll be 13...!
In 10 years, she’ll be 13…!

While the details are certainly different from when I was fifteen and dreaming, much of that sentiment has held true. I love that, ten years ago, I was about to start my first “real” job, was halfway through grad school, and was living in a city I enjoyed. Over the next years, a lot of 10-year anniversaries will happen: 10 year friendships, 10 year book club meetings, 10 years of marriage.

I love looking ahead 10 years, too. Of still being in the craziness-of-raising kids phase in life and yet it will look so different. Bea will be in middle school (!!), perhaps I’ll be working full-time, hopefully our kids will be more independent.

I love this middle ground that the thirties have to offer. Of reflection and anticipation. I’m sure this sounds naive, especially if you’re reading well beyond your thirties. Hopefully every decade in life offers this opportunity for reflection, but I am glad that I’m in a place where I can take some time to enjoy this moment.

Which decade was your favorite? Or, which are you most looking forward to?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

18 thoughts on “The Thirties

  1. Annie,
    I distinctively remember turning thirty and being so glad!
    I’m right smack in the middle now at 35, but I see very clearly how my faith has grown this half decade, precisely because my children have become a little more independent. Space gives time to reflect, and in that space it became clear how much I needed to be more dependent on God. It is interesting, their detachment allows me to cling all the more to Christ.
    Visiting from 5minfri.
    Cheers,
    Leah

    1. Love that you have found dependence as a result of your kids’ independence. I was starting to catch glimpses of that, now that our oldest is three, though we’ll be back at square one once this next one arrives…. 😉 It was a good window to see what our future could hold, though!

  2. I,too, looked forward to my thirties! They were a time of watching my kids grow, still having incredible adventures, building friendships. They felt more settled and sure than my twenties. Enjoy them!

  3. Nice, thoughtful post. I enjoyed reading it.

    I suppose I’m happy to be where I am. Yesterday’s rice has already been eaten, and tomorrow’s bowl is still empty.

    Well, that’s an Asian perspective, but since I am Asian, I suppose I can use it.

  4. I thought I’d have no problem turning 30, but after I did I cried over it! Too funny, maybe I was upset that my clubbing days were coming to a close (not kidding, I loved clubbing.) But 40 I have loved. I have found new sides of myself and hobbies that I never would have guessed would enrich my life.

  5. I know many people who were sad to turn thirty. When I was there, I didn’t feel thirty on the inside, even though my driver’s license assured me I was. But I will tell you, I found myself in my forties. I’m so much more comfortable with who I am, who God created me to be. I’m learning to look beyond those things I used to let define me, and see who God defines me to be. 🙂

    Fun post, Annie!

    1. Thanks, Jeanne! I am looking forward to my 40’s, too. It seems like my friends who are there are even more settled in their identity, both in their communities and in Christ. Looking forward to that time of discovery, too.

  6. Each decade of your life has its blessings and these should each be enjoyed. What I can say about the next decade of your life is that you will enjoy your child as she grows and becomes her own person. I know I did 🙂

    1. Thanks for the encouragement, Colline! I’m looking forward to seeing Bea’s personality become her very own. We catch glimpses, but I’m sure it’s amazing watching kids sort out their own beliefs and ideals.

  7. Annie, I’m rather enjoying my thirties too. But I’m creeping up on the next decade. I often wonder what my life will look like in ten years too. Visiting from FMF where I’m parked in the # 10 spot this week.

Leave a Reply

