Mid-Summer Favorites

Pre-Bea, my summers were fairly predictable: School would finish, I’d spend a week reading mindless novels, log some serious hammock hours, go on an amazing trip, and then tackle a non-beach read novel. (For me, summers are for reading Tolstoy and Dostoyevsky…)

Now, summers look similar to the rest of the year. Besides a more challenging bedtime, Bea doesn’t know the difference between our June routine and our October routine. (She still asks why her MOPS teachers don’t show up for the playdates.)

Here are some of my favorite things about this summer and our current season in life.

IMG_7857Post-Nap Swims
My parents recently moved to a place with a community pool. We try to make it over at least twice a week, if not more. Bea has gained confidence, and I’ve loved having something to do in that post-nap, pre-dinner time when we tend to get on each other’s nerves before Frank gets home.

Second Child Nesting
This looks so different than nesting with Bea! Instead of focusing on the nursery and building the crib, my nesting has included meeting friends for pedicures and tea and one last massage. We are spending this weekend preparing for the baby, because no one wants to build a crib with a newborn around, but I’ve enjoyed a time of self-care as well.

Afternoon & Evening Rainstorms
Summer days in Colorado can get hot – into the 90’s and can last for days on end. But, we also have frequent afternoon thunderstorms to cool things down and stretches of temperatures in the 80’s. I’m thankful to live in a place where we’re not completely dependent on air conditioning.

I could keep going, but these are some of my favorite things at this moment.

What are some of your favorite things?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday prompt, Favorite.

7 thoughts on “Mid-Summer Favorites

  1. Colorado sounds refreshing! I’m from West Virginia where we have teeny mountains compared to yours, but our weather is usually even keeled in the summer – as in, hot in the day, with a balmy evening coolness.
    Anyway, congrats on number two, and enjoy those pedicures (and post nap swims)! And yes – summers are much different with children in the picture – but it’s a good different!
    I’m your neighbor on fmf, thanks for sharing your life and favorite things!

    1. I’ve never been to West Virginia, but in my imagination, the entire East Coast is Very Hot during the summer months. 😉 Kids definitely make life a good-different. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’m so glad you’re taking time to care for yourself. Once number two comes along. “busy” takes on a whole new meaning. 🙂 My favorites includedark chocolate truffles,our Rocky MKountains, music, hanging with my family and movie nights and home-made popcorn with my husband . . . to name a few. 🙂 I hope things go smoothly with Blessing number two!

    1. I am a bit worried about our busyness level with number two… I know we’ll adjust, but it’s such an unknown! Love your favorites!! Don’t the Rockies spoil you? Probably the main reason I moved back to Colorado after college…

    1. PS- Tried commenting on yours but not sure it went through…. 😦 Just in case, here it is:
      Love that your favorites include the Rockies!! We moved to Colorado when I was 10 and I could not wait to leave for college. But, after 4 years away, the biggest decision to move back here was that I so missed the mountains. I even tried different ones, but there’s something about the Rockies….

Leave a Reply

