When You Wear a Story, You Change the Story

On Monday, I shared my Earring of the Month Club experience. Today, I wanted to share a bit more of the story. Fair Trade Friday started by sending out boxes featuring 3-4 pieces of jewelry or accessories. They’ve since grown to include home goods and a kids box, as well. The Mercy Shop also carries items a la carte. I’ve been eyeing the tote bags and paper bowls. I’m thinking this option will be great for the holidays!

FTF Goodies
FTF Goodies

Shortly after receiving my earrings, I decided to take the plunge and try their one-time gift box. Within days, my box was shipped and I received a variety of beautifully wrapped goodies, including a clutch from India, soap and chapstick from Zambia, and a bracelet from Uganda.

I loved that each item in my box came with a tag telling me about the country it was made, the organization who made it, and even the specific woman who worked on my bracelet and clutch. It made the experience much less about getting a box of beautiful accessories and more about recognizing that by choosing fair trade, I was helping another woman build her future.

IMG_7847One of my favorite items is the clutch. Especially in this stage of carrying a gigantic bag holding diapers, snacks, and an assortment of toys, whenever I go out without Bea, I like to carry the smallest possible purse. My clutch by Joyn is perfect. It fits my wallet, phone, and other small items without the need to transfer anything individually. I’ve taken it out on girl’s get-togethers and informal dates.

Melody, who founded Joyn in India says,

“We are so thankful for this partnership. Our hearts align and our missions align. Fair Trade Friday purchases JOYN products – each one made some of the most marginalized and oppressed people in the world – individuals with leprosy, disability, those who have grown up begging on the streets, former prostitutes, former addicts and your purchase employs at least 70 of our artisans with every order.”

Fair Trade Friday’s monthly boxes allow companies like Joyn to plan and produce more product than they could on their own. By having regular subscribers and even a waiting list, Fair Trade Friday is able to more accurately predict what needs to be produced each month. It also allows FTF to expand, as needed.

Image courtesy of Fair Trade Friday.
Image courtesy of Fair Trade Friday.

Founder of Mercy House Ministries and Fair Trade Friday, Kristen Welch says,

“I’ve sat across from founders from small non-profits who work in Afghanistan and India and Kenya and I’ve heard the worry and frustration in their voices wondering how they will continue to empower women when they cannot move the fair trade product that is piled up without a buyer. I’ve witnessed their discouragement and heard the heavy sighs of their burden to help women. We simply must do our part to work together to help each other help more women.”

There is currently a waiting list for the FTF monthly subscription box, but I’d highly recommend getting on it! And, don’t worry about waiting too long. New members are added each month. In fact, to celebrate their one year anniversary in August, 75 new spots will be available for FTF subscription boxes.

Don’t forget to enter the GIVEAWAY for a pair of Earring of the Month Club earrings! Click here to comment and I’ll pick a winner on Friday, July 3.

I received a complimentary pair of earrings as part of the Fair Trade Friday Blogging Team. I purchased the Fair Trade Friday box without any compensation. All opinions are my own.

9 thoughts on “When You Wear a Story, You Change the Story

    1. I know! I’m intrigued by the variety of subscription boxes out there. (We haven’t taken the plunge with any…) But, I especially love that there’s a fair trade option.

Leave a Reply

