Gifts that Keep on Giving

A friend and I were talking the other day about subscription gifts. With wedding season upon us and more and more people getting married later, gift giving looks a bit different. Most couples don’t need new bedding or china – they’ve already bought what they need. We were talking about subscription services and how fun it is to know that a gift will continue to surprise someone months after an event.

Summer seems filled with weddings, birthdays, baby showers, summer travels and host gifts, so I thought I’d share some subscription services I’ve been happy with as well as ones I’d like to try.

Foot Cardigan
For tax season, I usually try to think of fun little gifts for Frank that I can either slip in his briefcase or have sent to the office easily. This year, I signed him up for a Foot Cardigan subscription. Once a month, he received a funky pair of socks. I loved that they are dress socks – something he needs anyway – but in fun designs. When he has to wear a suit everyday, a fun pair of socks is an easy way to lighten the mood. The socks fit well, for the most part. One pair didn’t fit, and they quickly replaced them without question.

Getting mileage out of our Museum of Nature & Science membership
Getting mileage out of our Museum of Nature & Science membership

Local Memberships
After my parents moved up to Denver, we got my mom a membership to the Denver Botanic Gardens. This is one of our favorite memberships – we’ve had it since we were dating and listed as “Frank Rim + Guest.” We’ve since upgraded to the Family Pass and absolutely love that we can get six friends in with us for each visit. Area attraction memberships are great ways to stop saying We should go there sometime… and just go!

Sunset Wine Club
For my mom’s retirement, we decided to get her a subscription to Sunset’s Wine Club. Each month, she gets a bottle of white and a bottle of red as well as recipes to go with them. We were talking about her experience the other day and she said it was a great introduction to a variety of wines. Many are easily found at the liquor store, so if you find one that’s tasty, it can most likely be purchased again. There are many subscription wine services (Frank and I have been mulling over becoming part of the Justin “family”) but this is a good one if you want a variety or if you don’t have a specific winery in mind.

Image courtesy of Fair Trade Friday
Image courtesy of Fair Trade Friday

Fair Trade Friday
I just received my first Earring of the Month club earrings from Ethiopia. They are beautifully made and the colors go with several of my outfits. Because you aren’t guaranteed a specific style, a gift tag is always included so you can share the love. This is the perfect gift for a friend who loves global accessories. (I’ve been picked as a member of the FTF Blogging Team. A more in-depth review will be coming soon!) 

Fair Trade Friday is a ministry of Mercy House Kenya. FTF exists as an avenue for women to empower women by tackling poverty through job opportunities and empowerment rather than enablement. The artisans make beautiful projects and 100% of the proceeds support these artisans. Fair Trade Friday has a one-time box or a monthly club subscription but there is also an Earring of the Month Club. Both usually have a waiting list to join, but right now are open to new subscribers!

Three more I want to try…
These last three are services I keep hearing rave reviews about but haven’t yet had a chance to try for myself. We just sent a 6-month subscription of UrthBox snacks to a friend, so I’ll be interested to hear how he likes it.

My friend who likes to send subscription gifts to newlyweds said that Try the World is a tasty, gourmet surprise every couple months. After looking at their website, I’m tempted to sign us up for a subscription!

Blue Apron keeps coming up as a great way to make healthy meals when you’re tight on time. I keep thinking it’d be a good baby shower gift. I’ve also heard it’s a fun way to empower older kids who are interested in cooking by themselves.

Have you ever given or received a subscription gift? How did you like it? Any favorites to add to this list?

Leave a Reply

