Unspoken Modeling

My mom’s engagement ring was a nontraditional emerald. It was lost before I remember what it looked like and my parents replaced it with a ruby ring, found an an antique market in Paris.

When our conversations turned toward engagement and marriage, I told Frank I didn’t want a diamond ring. In his quest for a fair trade, ethically sourced ring, he found Brilliant Earth, a company that specializes in sapphire engagement rings. I love my deep blue sapphire. It fits my personality – a classic cut and ring with a bit of a twist.

My engagement ring
My engagement ring & wedding band

Many of our friends have a variety of stones in their rings, and Bea loves looking at the different colors. Emeralds, various shades of sapphire, pearls, and diamonds are all fun to look at. Beyond the personality differences in our friends’ choices, I love that Bea is subtly exposed to a different view of the wedding industry. She is being shown that you don’t have to fit into the marketing boxes, that you can have a symbol that represents your own personality.

The variety of engagement rings in some ways represents the variety of marriages and relationships being modeled for Bea. She is seeing so many representations of happy, healthy marriages. Our friends have all had their own journeys – some fit into a very traditional model while others are not at all following the mainstream. I’m thankful for these differences, that Bea will see firsthand that life is not done uniformly and that we all find our own path.

If you’re married, what kind of ring do you have? How does it represent your personality?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

10 thoughts on “Unspoken Modeling

  1. hi annie, i was married way back in 1968. just a few more years and i’ll hit 50 years. many of my friends whose spouses are still living are hitting that anniversary now! i never dreamed we would get to 50 b/c both his dad and mine died young from heart attacks! (i try not to be gloomy, but as a nurse i am pretty realistic.)

    i love the pretty sapphire ring you have. i have a simple solitaire diamond. at about year 25, we changed the 4 prong setting to a 6 prong setting and at about year 45 he added a diamond band with 3 slightly larger diamonds to represent each of our daughters. of course, i still have my plain white gold wedding band in between. not sure i can get it off my finger now!

    enjoyed your post:) i’m your next door neighbor at FMF.

    1. I love your story! Congratulations on nearly 50 years – that’s amazing. I love that he’s added a bit to your ring over the years, but that it’s mostly stayed the same. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I would love to see your ring. My birthstone is Sapphire! Love Sapphire. I also love emerd because green is my all time fave color.

  3. Annie, your sapphire wedding ring is gorgeous! My hubby and I talked about the different options available for wedding bands, and in the end, I went with a marquis cut diamond engagement ring and a diamond band. It is understated and a little dainty. Kind of fits my personality. πŸ™‚

    1. That’s what I love most about looking at (and asking about) people’s engagement rings – they are such a reflection of them! I can only think of a handful of accessories or items that truly reflect my personality like that…

  4. That’s what I’ve enjoyed about wedding the past few years. All are expressing their personally styles and except for trending colors and such, the ceremonies are uniquely theirs. I love that! What took us so long? πŸ˜‰ the past few years I’ve been wearing a silver ring with cut outs in it. A friend found it in a thrift store before Henry and I were even dating and I loved it. It suits me so well. And how perfect it would be from a Salvation Army thrift shop. 😳

    1. I know! I got married before Pinterest took off, but now it’s amazing how people personalize their weddings! Pretty fun! Your ring sounds perfect and I love that it’s from a SA gift shop… Of course!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

