Finding Inspiration

We meet once a month, this group of strong, opinionated women, to talk about books written by or featuring strong women. Over food and crusty bread and wine, we share our lives and dive into big topics. This group is my most diverse book club, from a life-experience perspective and our conversations about the books and topics surrounding the books (and topics surrounding life that have nothing to do with the books!) always generate lively discussion.

Frank and I were talking about things that motivate us. He enjoys listening to motivational speakers on the way to work. Even though he’s heard the message countless times before, he always gleans something new and it gives him encouragement. For me, sitting around a table and sharing life is what gives me motivation. Talking about hard topics with women I admire inspires me to learn more, to do more, and to view this world in new ways.

I’ve definitely been inspired after going to a conference or hearing someone give a powerful talk, but the inspiration that will most likely lead to concrete changes in thinking and action is when I’m with friends who challenge and encourage my own journey.

I’m thankful for this group of women – most of whom I didn’t know until joining this book club – that we take the time each month to meet, to debrief about life, and to encourage each other on the journey.

Where do you find inspiration and encouragement?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

10 thoughts on “Finding Inspiration

  1. I am with you. I am inspired more by my deep-gut conversations with others. My husband is similar to your husband, He is inspired by what he reads. Thank you for the reminder that the time invested in friendships that encourage and inspire are so important.

    1. I’m such a processer that in order to be inspired by what I read, I need to talk it out. My husband doesn’t question my need for multiple book clubs because he sees how important that time is. (And, I wonder if it’s his way of not having to process everything with me…) 😉

  2. I am like you, I process through relationship.. whether it be with others or with God. I think talking things through in order to process them might be a girl thing…LOL Great post.. stopping in from FMF. Have a blessed day!

    1. I didn’t think about it being a man/woman thing, but I think you’re absolutely right. Women seem to need that face-to-face community more than men! 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I know what you mean. Something so holy about breaking bread together especially with friends. I need to find me a book club like yours.

    1. Yes – bread and wine… Doesn’t get much more sacred, right? Even when discussing something completely unspiritual. If you’re ever in town, you’re welcome to join ours! 🙂

  4. Annie, I think I’m like you in that it’s the words of friends—those who know me and love me still—that spark change within me. Hearing their words, perspectives, and outlooks on life make me think about my own life through a different filter. This is always a good thing. I’m so glad you’ve got such a great group of women to meet with!

    1. Finding that community (even before kids!) is such a life-saver for me. I love having a variety of voices and experiences help me process my own outlook!

  5. Are you talking about “our” book club? I’m sad I missed last week, and the discussion on Half of a Yellow Sun. So much in that book. I’m looking forward to the other two! Thanks Annie. I’m grateful for our “club”.

Leave a Reply

