Hope in Tomorrow

We were at Costco a couple days ago and Bea insisted on steering the cart. In other grocery stores this is an awkward but doable request. (As long as the store is fairly empty…) Costco’s carts, like their products, are larger than the average so Bea has to strain to reach the handle. It took us about 8 minutes to walk half an aisle with this method… Whenever I would suggest help, she would insist that she was Big Enough!! And we had to explain that, while she is growing up, she just needs to be a bit taller. Perhaps one of the hardest truths of childhood.

"Helping" at Costco
“Helping” at Costco

This had me thinking about my own desire to be at the next phase in life. Sometimes I just want to get to the next opportunity, without messing around in the lessons I’m learning right now. I’m trying to find that balance between active anticipation of the promise of a restored earth and the reality of living in the grittiness and frustration of the not-quite-yet.

I can feel bogged down in all the injustice and the fact that I feel helpless to do anything about it. I guess I just want to be bigger – to have more degrees or more authority or more ideas to actually help a situation. Instead, I’m looking at the small moments and tiny ways in which I can help now. Whether through giving financial support to those who already do amazing work to educating myself to simply praying for those in need.

Every night before bed I read this Compline prayer and I’m slowly letting it sink into my daily outlook:

We cannot do everything, and there is a sense of liberation in realizing that. This enables us to do something, ad to do it well. It may be incomplete, but it is a beginning, a step along the way, an opportunity of the Lord’s grace to enter and do the rest.

How do you balance living in the moment and looking toward the hope of tomorrow?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

8 thoughts on “Hope in Tomorrow

  1. Right now I am reading “The Best Yes” by Lysa TerKeurst and she talks a bit about this… living in the now and preparing for the future! Thanks for these words they are an encouragement to me today!

  2. THIS: “We cannot do everything, and there is a sense of liberation in realizing that. This enables us to do something, ad to do it well. It may be incomplete, but it is a beginning, a step along the way, an opportunity of the Lord’s grace to enter and do the rest.” YES!! I want to remember those words. So glad to see you back here this week, Annie!

    1. So glad to see you, as well Tara! I love that it’s the nightly prayer – such an amazing reminder before bed. (Now to remember to apply it during the daytime!)

  3. Annie, I love this post. I find myself caught up in the middle place of wanting to be in a certain place in life RIGHT NOW. But, God knows I need to learn some lessons before I can be in that place, that role, that situation. The waiting is hard.

    I loved the prayer you shared at the end. I think i need to incorporate it, and learn to be content with where I am now and how I can help in the now.

    Great post!

    1. Are you noticing a theme? 😉 I so struggle with the contentment in the moment. Love that this ancient prayer reflects my own struggles – it’s so comforting knowing I’m not alone and that these feelings are not new or unique.

Leave a Reply

