Grace in Relief

‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
And grace my fears relieved;
How precious did that grace appear
The hour I first believed.
– John Newton

Relief. Breathing a sigh of relief. Letting go. Those are the words that first come to mind, yet as I think of the relief I’ve gained from my faith and my community, I wonder if the idea of giving something to those in need is a better description.

IMG_7406

When I needed an authentic community of women, going through the same questions and struggles as moms, I found relief in my MOPS group. When I needed a community of questioners and thinkers and doubters and grapplers, I found relief in my weekly book club as we sort through thoughts on faith. When I needed to be reminded of hope and caring during tough times, I found relief in those who brought meals, sent texts, and cared for us as a family. Even after seeing a healthy heartbeat on the monitor, the relief of actually feeling this baby move was a much needed relief.

As I think about relief given to me – in big ways and small – I think about how I can offer relief. Perhaps it’s through a kind word, or a meal. Perhaps it’s through a playdate or babysitting. Perhaps it’s through a note dropped in the mail, just because. I often underestimate the power relief can hold and how precious the grace of relieving fears can be.

How have you found grace in relief?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

8 thoughts on “Grace in Relief

  1. Annie, I’ve always loved those words in that hymn. It was sung at a funeral I attebded yesterday. I am thankful for those women that are my sisters in Christ and bring me relief. Where in Colorado do you live? I do a continuing education event outside Estes Park every June. I love the Rocky Mountains. Glad to stop by here today!

  2. Love this! I have a little guy who’s been through some medical challenges and as I read your piece, I kept thinking of the relief I felt everytime I heard someone was praying for us, or someone dropped us a note or brought a dinner to the house. There’s a sweetness in community that’s so worth getting outside our comfort zone a bit, and you capture that so well here.

    1. Prayers for you & your little one! It’s those tough moments that so remind me of the amazing importance of community. Glad you’ve found that on your journey!

Leave a Reply

