Remembering It is Good

One of my favorite translations of the creation story comes from Bea’s Jesus Storybook Bible. In it, God exclaims, “You’re good!” after creating the light, the land, the animals, and people. It captures God’s excitement as creation is declared good and perfect.

IMG_7371

Thinking about this redemptive season and how all things are made good again comes naturally with spring and Easter. Flowers awakening from winter; trees budding; the season of Lent and then the remembrance of Holy Week bring us around again to the restoration of the earth.

Today, we remember that exclamation of, “You’re good!” Perhaps it’s in the solemn context of death and the cross, but we have the ability to rejoice in what is coming. Because Jesus came to reconcile, it is good.

As we move into the Easter season, I remember that when I work toward restoring a perfect creation, it is good. As we do justice and love kindness, it is good. As we seek hope and love, it is good. As we focus on healing the wounded, it is good.

As we turn our eyes toward a restored creation and work toward that vision, I believe God is saying, “You’re good!”

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

4 thoughts on “Remembering It is Good

  1. Wow, it’s hard for me to consider myself “good.” I see my failings, my selfishness and the ugly still inside me. But, God created me. He’s working in me. As I live out the things God shows me to live out, I begin to look more like Him. So, you’re right I am good. Because of Him. Thanks so much for this reminder, Annie!

  2. I loved our granddaughter’s Jesus Storybook Bible so much I bought one for me too. I used most of it’s telling of the Christmas story in planning Advent for our men. And all those things you mentioned….yes, very good. Thanks Annie.

    1. We got ours before Bea was born and it came with the audiobook. I remember listening to it in the car and thinking fewer people would be leaving the church if they heard the message of Jesus through this simple, hope-filled lens.

Leave a Reply

