Poets Anonymous: The Water Is Wide

Welcome to our monthly Poets Anonymous!

On the 15th of each month, I’ll post part of a poem. If you have a blog, post a poem on yours and share your link in the comments. If you don’t have a blog, feel free to share part of a poem in the comments. Or, I encourage you to simply read a poem today.

The water is wide, 
I can’t cross over, 
And neither have I wings to fly.
Build me a boat 
That can carry two 
And both shall row, my love and I.

There is a ship 
And she sails the sea. 
She’s loaded deep, 
As deep can be.
But not so deep 
As the love I’m in, 
I know not how I sink or swim.

James Taylor*

*Edited: I have memories of hearing this song sung by James Taylor, however it has a richer history, according to Wikipedia.

Share a favorite poem (or segment of one) in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Poets Anonymous: The Water Is Wide

  1. “The Water Is Wide” (also called “O Waly, Waly”) is a folk song of Scottish origin, based on lyrics that partly date to the 1600s. (not original with James Taylor or any other 20th Century)

    1. Nice! I wondered if James Taylor was the original author… I always associate his version to the song. Bea has a book of folk songs with it in there, though no author is given.

      1. I leaned my back up against an oak.
        Thinkin’ it was a trusty tree. But
        first it bent and then it broke
        just like my own false love to me.

Leave a Reply

