When Perspective Changes

When I was growing up, my dad either worked from home or he worked within a block of my elementary school. He was always available and it seemed normal to have him as the go-to volunteer and pick-up parent when I was sick.

Now, our reality includes tax season, which means for three months, we have to be incredibly intentional about how and when Bea is able to see Frank.

Bea "helping" Frank in our home office.
Bea “helping” Frank in our home office.

When I was in college, I imagined myself working at a big, famous art museum. I would have an impressive title and would be changing the way we look at art through the power of education.

Now, I work at a small art museum, juggling a very flexible part time job with playdates and “mom” commitments. But, I am helping to change the way we look at art through innovative experiences and one group of kids at a time.

When I was a young teacher, I thought the system could be changed with energy, handwork, and parent support.

Now, I see how easy it is to burnout when relying on energy alone. I see that parent support is nuanced and complicated and that the system needs to be changed in so many ways.

When I was single and traveling the world during my vacations, I imagined I’d raise my family in some exotic location where we didn’t speak the language.

Now, I’m realizing so many ways to change the world and care for my neighbors right here. I’m learning to look around and see that making the world a better place starts in my own area.

How has your perspective changed over the years and with life experience?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

4 thoughts on “When Perspective Changes

  1. I think we can speak different languages even though they may sound alike. We’re coming to realize “cross-cultural” doesn’t have to mean leaving our communities. That’s exciting.

    On a side note, there is an awesome children’s art museum here. It’f my favorite thing to do with our granddaughter when she visits. She’s my excuse to go. It’s more about hands on than looking. But you have to do both to get the most from the experience.

    1. Love hands-on museums! One of my favorites is (randomly) in Seminole, Oklahoma. So cool finding the hidden gems! And, I think it’s funny that hands-on usually means a Children’s Museum. Adults love interacting in a more kinesthetic way, too! 🙂

      And yes, it’s amazing to find these cultural opportunities right at home. Very powerful!

Leave a Reply

