Sharing Stories

In my MOPS group, we’ve chosen to use our “off” weeks as time to share stories. At first, this was daunting. Many women were worried they didn’t have a story to share; they had “journey envy,” as they had led such a drama-free life; they didn’t like speaking in front of others. But, as women have stepped forward and shared with courage, we’re discovering the power of story and storytelling.

We’ve heard from women who came from idyllic, stable families; women who raised siblings at the age of 9; women whose parents made tough choices about family and immigration; women who have seen the effects and redemption of unhealthy doctrine. We’ve shared of the hard, early days of motherhood and the lessons learned from building a family.

We’ve learned that our stories are interconnected, no matter how seemingly separate the details are. We’ve learned that God can take hard, impossible moments, and bring about grace and redemption through them.

Mostly, I’ve learned that our stories are important. By taking the time and creating the space to share our own stories, we are slowly learning pieces of a bigger story, a greater puzzle of how we are all connected and intertwined.

Have you shared your story lately?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing. 

11 thoughts on “Sharing Stories

  1. Oh, what a powerful post. Love the idea of meeting to share stories….as you say, story sharing is such a powerful medium through which to find so many important things. Love your line, “God can take hard, impossible moments, and bring about grace and redemption through them”…beautiful. [A FMF friend]

  2. I was not age nine, more like age 12 (August, 1956 following). After school responsible to following directions (prepare supper) for father (b. 1916), brother (1945), brother (1947), sister (1950), sister (1952), sister (1955). Mama worked second shift – 3:00pm – 11:00pm about 15 miles away.

  3. There is something precious that happens when women share their stories. The encouraging that comes, the connections made . . . all of those nourish the hearts of the hearers. You are so fortunate to be a part of such a special MOPS group, Annie.

    I don’t think I’ve shared my broader story lately. I find myself sharing snippets in my blog posts though. 🙂

    1. We are lucky to be part of such a special MOPS group. Thank you for helping it be a safe place for me to land.

    2. I think sitting down and thinking about my story as a whole was so powerful. Seeing how pieces connected and how others responded. I learned so much about something I thought I was an expert it. 😉

  4. Good and important words, Annie. Funny how we even compare our stories as if there are better ones than others. I was reminded of a statement made by Ann Voskamp that sure speaks to me, “don’t give me a sermon, tell me your story”. Keep sharing yours!

Leave a Reply

