Noticing the Quirks and Character

We are in the midst of selling our house. This means decluttering, hiding all personal photos, and making it look as though we are as neat, organized, and styled as a Container Store catalog. In the grand scheme of buying and selling, our experience has (so far) been on the easier side, which has been wonderful since Bea has suddenly become attached to the placement of everything!

Staging
My shelves are never this empty!

All this decluttering has me thinking about this house. Built in 1952, it’s charming and has a lot of character. It also has a lot of quirks and funky nuances of an older home. Our buyer came by the other day for the inspection and it was interesting getting the report back. Some of the items were things we had known about but had decided not to notice in the years living here. (Vinyl siding? Not amazing but not something we were in a hurry to change.) Some things we had noticed and put on our to-do list, but never gotten around to it. (Redoing the kitchen? Lots of dust and money if it’s not our forever home.) Other things we truly hadn’t noticed and were surprised they were a thing. (I didn’t realize how emotionally invested I would become about a crawl space…) In scrutinizing our house, it makes me wish we had been better about doing the projects slowly over time, rather than cramming them into our last weeks living here.

This noticing has me thinking about my own life. What are areas I know need fixing or work but I just choose not to notice them anymore? What are areas on my to-do list that seem to get lost in the shuffle? It’s inspired me to take more time to notice, not just the improvements, but the charming nuances that make me, me.

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

8 thoughts on “Noticing the Quirks and Character

  1. I can sure relate to this Annie. For all the noticing I do that is really more complaining, I fail to do much about it. Like change my attitude to do what needs doing. I’m thankful we can learn and we so often learn from, and with, others.

  2. We’ve bought and sold three houses in our years as husband and wife. It doesn’t get easier. The last one, we had our two boys–ages 3 and almost five. That was a bit of chaos! You’re right when you say it’s always interesting to see what people notice about your home that you’ve become so familiar with you overlook. Certainly been there!

    And, those things in me? So often, they seem glaring in their obviousness. I get surprised when others don’t see my quirks, my shortcomings, my failings. But whether they see them or not, God has a way of showing me, in His timing, that it’s time to deal with them. Some of His fixes in me are years in the “fixing.”

    Loved your post today, Annie. And may your move go smoothly!

    1. Wow! I can’t imagine with two toddler/young kids!! We moved Bea’s toy box momentarily, which led to a meltdown…. It’s true: Sometimes those fixes are slow, and in hindsight, I’m so thankful for God’s patient timing.

  3. This is good, and something that has been lingering in my head as I think about words spoken over me and how I have let too many of them go. I am sure God gets tired of going around the same mountains as He points out things to work on, and eventually they fall to the wayside. Thank you for the reminder. Enjoyed readying your #fmfparty.

    1. I know! There are definitely times when something seems insurmountable, but if I come back to it later it somehow seems more doable. I wonder if God plants a seed, knowing we’re unable to accomplish some things the first time? Thanks for stopping by!

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by! Yes, the prioritizing piece is key. Mostly, I think it’s how I get things done, but it often means saving the bits I don’t like for last… 😉

Leave a Reply

