Turning Colors and Beauty in Change

I’m in the Autumn camp for favorite season. I love the brilliant colors, the need to check the weather everyday, and the ability to wear sweaters with sandals or tank tops with boots. I also love the visual reminder of natural life cycles. Watching the trees turn brilliant colors before shedding their leaves doesn’t bring images of death but of beauty.

View from our front yard
View from our front yard

We’re in a season of change as a family – nothing major (although we did end up buying that house in the suburbs!) but just changes and reflections on life and death. I’m glad this personal season has happened in the midst of autumn. I need the reminder everyday that there is beauty in change and, in order to achieve that beauty, leaves fall off and trees become bare.

I also love the reminder of bare branches that winter is not just a cold, dark season. It’s one filled with snow and hot chocolate. It’s when we get out a lot to snowshoe and build snowmen. As I think about winter approaching, I think about the coziness of fires and family and the hope of spring.

What’s your favorite season? Do you live in a place with fall colors?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

8 thoughts on “Turning Colors and Beauty in Change

  1. Here’s a little poem I found in a Christian magazine back in the 70’s (probably breaking copyright, but I don’t know who wrote it). Since Autumn is one of my favorite seasons, too, I’ve always liked the imagery.

    BEYOND AUTUMN
    I heard you, Christian,
    skipping through the graveyard of the year
    riotous, joyful,
    unafraid of early darkness
    because you know a song
    from the other side
    of death.

  2. Love this, Annie. I’m in the autumn camp as well. I just can’t get enough of the colors God paints the trees, as my tons of pictures would reveal. 🙂 I love the cooling weather, hot apple cider, anything pumpkin, or cinnamon, or apple. I love the promise of family time together, in a warm place, creating memories.

    We need to get out more this winter and sled. If we have enough snow to do so! 🙂

    What a wonderful post. 🙂

  3. My favourite season here in Toronto is definitely the Fall. Not only is the temperature more bearable than the humidity of the Summer, but also the sights of the trees are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

