Ready

We woke up to the heat going on today. The high is going to be something in the mid-50’s, which seems too cold for September 12. This is just a snap – next week will be pleasant again. I love autumn and the coziness of winter, but am not quite ready to put away the water table and sandals.

Too cold!
Too cold!

Last night I wrapped our tomato plants with sheets, preparing for the worst forecast of snow, though we woke up to drizzle. It made me think about other areas of my life right now. I may not be ready to make certain decisions, to let go of ideas or hopes, to move on just yet, but it’s important to be ready, to prepare myself for the inevitable.

Wrapped tomatoes
Wrapped tomatoes

On the flipside, I am very ready for some things to start happening, to move to the next stage of a journey, to start new routines. I need to prepare for those, too. Now, it’s by waiting and resting in the moment. Sometimes it’s a more active waiting, but often it feels too passive. I’m trying to embrace the stage of waiting so that, when the times comes to get going, I’m ready.

As a natural planner, this small season has been a good challenge for me: The tension of being prepared, being ready, and letting things happen naturally in their own time.

Are you a planner? How do you prepare?

Linked with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

8 thoughts on “Ready

  1. Ahhh… this is me, too: “As a natural planner, this small season has been a good challenge for me: The tension of being prepared, being ready, and letting things happen naturally in their own time.” Loved those word, today. And we woke to a refreshing chill in the air, also. Loving the change and desiring to be ready! Great post! Happy Friday!

  2. I love the change of seasons! I’m usually the sort who waits with eager, baited breath! Sometimes, it’s difficult however, when facing what new seasons hold, and letting go of the old. These fingers cling tightly to something that’s meant to be let go. I’m usually reminded of the verses that tell us there’s a time for all things.
    Found ya from FMF, thanks for sharing!!

    Peggy

  3. Annie, I loved this post, and I’m totally with you on this cold snap! I wasn’t ready to bring plants indoors and cover my tomatoes yesterday! I had to go online and ask friends what to do (since this was my first year container gardening). Next year, I’ll be ready with a plan. But last night and today? I wasn’t ready. Can you tell I’m a planner? πŸ˜‰

    And this: “I need to prepare for those, too. Now, it’s by waiting and resting in the moment.” Sometimes the best way to be ready is by waiting. Hadn’t thought about that before. Thanks for the food for thought!

Leave a Reply

