Beautiful

Being the mom of a two-year-old daughter, I don’t have to worry too much about where Bea gets her perception of femininity and womanhood. I am her main role model, along with family and her friends’ moms. (Who are, at this stage, my friends. So, no worries there – all amazing women!) I do think about the day when TV characters move beyond Super Why and Daniel Tiger’s buddies and we step into the world of tween pop stars and girls finding their way into adulthood under the limelight. Until then, I’m trying to surround my daughter with strong, courageous women to help build a foundation of who she is and who she can become.

Looking around my Mothers of Preschoolers group, I see strong, confident, spirit-filled women. I see women in boots-over-jeans with a fashionable scarf draped carelessly and I see women in yoga pants and sneakers with a ponytail thrown up in hindsight. I see women who build absolutely necessary workout time into their schedules while others are still hoping the baby weight will somehow disappear, years later.

I see moms who put their children in daycare so they can work at getting a degree. I see moms with Master’s degrees, now staying home full-time. I see moms struggling to find a work-life balance and moms who question if they’re now obsolete by stepping out of the workforce.

Mostly, I see moms who care deeply for their children. Moms who laugh quickly and cry easily. (Tissues are never far from reach at our meetings.) I see moms taking risks and speaking Truth into each other’s lives.

I’m realizing more and more as I venture into this mothering journey that I cannot do this alone. I need other mothers to model parenting for me. I need other mothers to love my daughter on the days when it seems hard. I need other mothers to laugh with me in the middle of a meltdown at the museum. And, I need Bea to see these other mothers, working and playing with their own kids. I love that they are apart of my daughter’s life and I get to be part of their kids’ lives.

These women I’ve met (seemingly) randomly through MOPS come each week with successes and failures. As we laugh and cry and do life together, I am grateful for such a diverse support system. And when I think about the kind of woman I wish for my daughter to become, I think of these women. I think of a bit disheveled, beautifully loving, amazingly strong women and I hope they form her definition of femininity and beauty.

Do you have a parenting support system?

Linked with SheLoves Magazine’s monthly theme: Beautiful.

8 thoughts on “Beautiful

  1. I read this this morning, Annie. I love that you have a support system. When my kids were young I had a couple friends I always called with Mommy questions. Your being intentional with those who have influence on your daughter now will pay off as she grows older. 🙂 Great post!

  2. 1972 until 1975, yes – we (couple with 5-month-old), they (couple with child 11 months older) combined households into a small “commune” into which “their” second child was born. This was a great support community – four adult parents – max three children. Three potential stay-at-home all four taking parenting quite seriously. I am a male point of view.

  3. O, a support system with little ones is so crucial. I had a friend who has kids the same ages as my daughters and she was a lifeline. Our conversations reminded me that I wasn’t crazy and that motherhood is sometimes hard and not to take myself too seriously. Thank you for linking up, Annie!
    xoxo

    1. Yes! There’s something about going through it at the same time. As much as I value the mothers who have gone before, I equally need those who are in it Right Now.

Leave a Reply

