Begin

My parents just reached the point of no-return in buying their new house in Denver. By the middle of next month, they will be officially moved up here, about 10 minutes from our house. Starting over is never easy, and I’m impressed that they are making this change when they have such established friends and a church community. (Bea has a lot to do with this decision…!)

This will be a new beginning in our relationship, as well. I haven’t lived in the same town as my parents since high school. Even though they are only an hour away now, a certain level of planning is involved when we get together. We are now entering into a proximity that will allow for more spontaneity – and all of the benefits and challenges involved.

Frank grew up within walking distance of his paternal grandparents and only an hour away from his maternal set, so this move is creating a certain level of normalcy for how he views raising a family. We moved 3,000 miles away from both my grandparents when I was almost 10. It will be interesting to see how we blend expectations after the dust of moving settles.

I think there will be some conversations about what we expect from this move – how much family time, babysitting time, autonomy…. How will we create a daily routine while still keeping our own family time precious? I’m sure these will all happen naturally, but for now, I’m looking forward to this new beginning in our family’s story.

Do you live close to extended family? How do you balance the proximity?

Linked with Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday, a time to write without editing.

6 thoughts on “Begin

  1. Oh, your post makes me miss Denver. Lived there for the early part of our marriage before moving east to North Carolina. I have learned that adult relationships with my parents can be harder than I expected, for all the reasons you mention. But seeing them as grandparents makes it all worth it! A wonderful thing for there to be so much love around my son. Peace to you in this transition! (your Five Minute Friday neighbor)

  2. It’s amazing how our family experiences and traditions shape our adult family choices. I love being involved with my immediate and extended family.

  3. I have always been a bit envious of people who live near close family. We never lived close to any grandparents when I was growing up and I haven’t been near to any of my family since having children. I understand there are challenges but oh how I wish I could drop in for coffee with my mum every week!

Leave a Reply

