Summer

Even though it’s not officially summer until the end of the month, June signals the start of the season, in my mind. I’ve never had a job that didn’t recognize summertime – either in that it was only for that short season or because we had it as a break. Even with only working a couple days per week, the last gallery tour of the year made me gear up for summer mode. Even my weekly book club is scaling back and incorporating family picnic dinners instead of discussions into our routine.

I’m looking forward to this summer. Bea is old enough to start backyard camping, and our goal is to finally figure out family camping – it’s been two years, which seems way too long! I’m looking forward to boredom and hammocks and parks and water tables and hiking and no schedule. In some ways, I think we’ll have more fun since Bea is more adventurous. In other ways, I’ll have to be more creative in getting us out of the house, since the backyard seems smaller than last year.

Last night, Frank and I kept the TV off and our phones put away and sat on the back patio, drinking beer and watching the garden after Bea went to bed. As we were chatting, we saw a hummingbird fly to our newly planted, hummingbird-attracting flowers. It flitted around for a while, drinking nectar and exploring. I hope s/he spreads the word. Bea has been looking longingly at our feeder, saying, “I hope birds come someday!” Now, maybe they’ll come back during the day.

Can you spot the hummingbird?
Can you spot the hummingbird?

The outdoor time, the slower pace, the lightness and warmth, the fresh fruits and veggies, grilling and eating outside. Even in the unbearable heat that seems to last longer each year, summer is such a social and active season. It seems to reset the busyness of spring, with tax season and planting and reconnecting. Summertime is when we rest and slow down.

What are some of your favorite summertime activities?

8 thoughts on “Summer

  1. i love slow, i thrive in peace, in stillness so i can see life around me and be inspired by the whispers of God. enjoy your summer and the slowing down.

  2. Ahhh…. your post made me feel the peace of your beer-drinking and bird-watching. Slowness is a gift. It brings the rest, the connection, and the quiet…so we can hear Him. I love this piece. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I too got that summer feeling with all the specific details you gave us! Could even feel summer’s heavy heat! Simple and nice. Left me with a good feeling. How wonderful to do that for someone with your carefully chosen words!

  4. I love your descriptors of summer. Definitely peaceful. The first sign of summer is the first day after school lets out and my boys sleep in. There’s something about watching the sun shine through aspen leaves early in the morning and knowing I can actually enjoy them for a few minutes in peace and quiet. Summer looks like flowers blooming in my planters and being outdoors with my guys. It looks like swimming pools and a few sun burns, and laughter. Lots of laughter.

    I enjoyed your post, Annie!

    1. Yes! Lots of flowers!! Even after our veggies are in, I don’t feel summery until I’ve planted the annuals.

      PS- Sleep in?? I cannot wait for that stage! 😉

Leave a Reply

