Grateful

For a full night’s sleep

For women who mother with me: My mom,

aunts, friends, with kids and without

For a house with new windows and heat and air conditioning

For a job that allows me to combine my interests and passions

For friends who make me think and stretch my ideas

For safety

For flowers delivered

Grateful for these two
Grateful for these two

One of my book clubs just finished reading Half the Sky. I had read it years ago and it was such a reminder of all I have to be grateful for. One woman, whose son is on the autism spectrum, even said that having a kid with autism seemed like a “first world problem” after reading this book. I take time daily to write my 1000 Gifts and try to notice the little things, but sometimes life and the need for more overwhelms and I become dissatisfied.

Being grateful has become a practice – one I am no where close to mastering, but continuing to practice.

What are you grateful for?

Linked with Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday, a time to sit and write without editing.

8 thoughts on “Grateful

  1. Hi Annie,

    Linking up with you from FMF. I am intrigued to read the book you mentioned, I have heard it mentioned multiple times just this week so I am thinking it is worth getting. πŸ™‚
    I am grateful today, for the memories, all of them, because sometimes it is all we have left to hold on to when the ones we love are no longer her in body to hold. I grateful for the chance to extend that legacy with words, just as a reminder that it is not forgotten.

    Blessings and Happy Mother’s Day!
    Dawn

  2. I am grateful for my family. I wish I could be grateful sleep. It comes in spurts, but I’m sure I have been sleep-deprived for 15 years. πŸ™‚ I, too, have practiced being grateful, even in the stinky, yucky, aggravating parts of life. Blessings to you and your family!

  3. family and friends who are a constant encouragement, a job that is stressful and fulfilling, new changes and challenges, grace through each day!

Leave a Reply

