BookLook Blogger

I have a pretty long to-read list. Book recommendations are such an interesting way to get to know new (and old!) friends. Whenever I read a book recommended by a friend – even if I didn’t particularly like it – I feel like I’ve gotten to know them a bit more. I’m always in a bit of a quandary when rating books from friends on Goodreads if I don’t like them…. I feel a bit guilty giving something less than 3 stars.

I find book reviews helpful, both from friends and strangers. If I’m struggling through a book, others’ opinions sometimes help me power through and sometimes give me permission to abandon the book. If I love a book, I like reading the lower reviews, just to see a more critical view of a story I loved. (It rarely changes my opinion, but I feel a bit more balanced after reading some 1-star reviews.)

So, I just signed up to review books through BookLook Bloggers, through HarperCollins Christian Publishing, which includes Zondervan and Thomas Nelson. It was pretty easy – after being accepted, I checked various areas of interest. Based on those, a list of books was created and I chose a book to review.

I review for BookLook Bloggers

Once the book comes in the mail, I’ll have 90 days to read it and write a short review. I’m pretty excited about this. It’ll be a great way to read some new titles and pass them along to you all. Anyway, I wanted to give a heads up that more book reviews (and possibly some giveaways…) will be in the future.

Do you find book reviews helpful? What is your favorite genre?

Leave a Reply

