Writer

I have never viewed myself as a writer. I have always believed everyone has a story to tell, but I’m much more comfortable telling mine over dinner and wine with friends. I believe our stories and opinions empower us and those in our community, but I’ve wondered about the widespread use of the internet and opinions that are so freely given without established trust.

That said, one of my favorite genres is memoir. I love learning about people who have vastly different experiences from me and my friends. I enjoy stories and am equally amazed by the internet’s ability to allow so many people to share and encourage through storytelling.

It wasn’t really until a road trip last fall that I considered writing and telling my story. Three young moms and a mentor mom from my MOPS group piled into Kathy’s minivan and headed to Kansas City for the annual MomCon. While the conference was great, the truly lasting and amazing part of that long weekend was the 8 hours there and 8 hours back we spent talking, sharing stories, reminiscing, asking questions, and laughing. As we drove west into Colorado, Kathy asked if I had ever considered writing my story. I hadn’t, but I began mulling it over.

MomCon coffee break
MomCon coffee break

About a month later, I decided to start this blog. I wanted the accountability of writing for an audience – however small. It’s been challenging to be more intentional with my thoughts than I would be through journaling. And, it’s been a risk for me to begin calling myself a writer.

Linked with Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday, a time to sit and write for five minutes without editing.

7 thoughts on “Writer

  1. I, too, am new at writing! Not exactly sure if I am actually a writer, but I guess we both are if we are writing our stories down. Keep going! I am enjoying perusing your blog. Have a blessed Friday….

  2. I think we are designed to celebrate God through our stories! I cannot say I am a writer – just cannot, though that’s what I’ve always wanted to be. To many people told me I couldn’t, wasn’t good enough – so I stopped saying and and just did:)

    What a blessing, that car ride and that weekend you had those women!!!

Leave a Reply

