Special

“You are special, friend.” Bea loves telling others they are special and that she likes them. She learned these two phrases from watching Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood, the updated, animated version of the Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood of my childhood.

The messages in this new version are the same: You are important; You are special; You own your feelings. With the soundtrack on a continuous loop, these phrases permeate our house and are teaching lessons and attitudes that last a lifetime. When Frank leaves for work, Bea sings: “Grownups come back.” When she has difficulty doing something, she sings: “Keep trying [you’ll get] better!”

“The Quiet Man” (as my brother called him) empowered my generation to take ownership for our feelings and to talk through them with the adults in our lives. I know that some would argue his lessons have led to the snowflake effect on our society, I think they have given many people a voice, curiosity, and ability to keep trying, to get better.

Today is Fred Rogers’ birthday, so I thought I would leave you with a reminder that you are special:

2 thoughts on “Special

  1. I love that Paden has learned to talk about his feelings. I am so happy that he has been in a preschool for two years that values teaching social and emotional skills. It’s built right into their curriculum. I love when he feels free to express what makes him happy, sad, or mad. Even when those mad feelings are directed at me. I hope he never feels that he has to ignore those feelings, but also learns the skills how to cope with them. He seems to be on the right track and as a parent I hope I am too!

    1. I’m looking forward to when these lessons and feelings can be more clearly articulated. Paden is such a cool kid – and you are an amazing mom!

Leave a Reply

