What I’m Into 2:14

I’m linking up with Leigh Kramer again for her What I’m Into compilation.

February absolutely flew by! We are officially in the midst of tax season, which means there are days when Frank doesn’t get to see Bea at all, but we do try to meet at the Botanic Gardens or Museum of Nature and Science for lunch dates.

20140228-083901.jpg
Lunch date at the Botanic Gardens

Books: Finished & In Progress
I read way too many memoirs written by under-40 year olds this month. I think, in general, a memoir should be written mid-life, not mid-experience. One exception was The Dirty Life by Kristin Kimball. It reminded me that I am not cut out for farm life, but was a funny, well-written account of her first year as a farmer. I also read Desmond Tutu’s God Has a Dream, which was outstanding! His message of grace has really stuck in my mind and I’ve mulled over his words well after I finished the book.

I read two books this month, highly recommended by friends that I just didn’t get into. I had an internal struggle as to how I should rate them. I ended up giving the rating I would have without it being a recommendation and am hoping our friendship is built on something stronger than book suggestions.

Frank and I are beginning our next round of books for our Reading Challenge. He is starting To Kill a Mockingbird and I decided on We the Living, mostly to get over all the memoirs…

Screen Time
We haven’t watched much of anything this month, though I think I have nearly every episode of Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood memorized.

Blogging
Osheta Moore’s series, Stand Your Ground…In Prayer is absolutely amazing. Each day brings powerful words. I have been feeling helpless, reading the news and wondering what I can do, and Osheta’s series has reminded me of the power of prayer and empathy. Over here, my own favorite was The Right Way.

Around Town
If you live near Denver, the Denver Art Museum and Clyfford Still Museum are doing a joint exhibition, featuring art from the Albright-Knox Gallery. DAM is featuring Modern Masters and CSM is reimagining Still’s 1959 solo exhibit at the Albright-Knox. One ticket gets you into both shows, and you will see an amazing collection of artists who have shaped this century. If you love modern art, or have been wanting to learn more, these shows are a great introduction!

What about you? What are you into these days?

Head over to Leigh’s Link-Up for other fun books, activities, and goings-on from February.

3 thoughts on “What I’m Into 2:14

  1. I really enjoyed ‘The Dirty Life’ too despite having the complete opposite of green fingers and only a tiny city garden. It doesn’t stop me dreaming though…
    I want to read Desmond Tutu’s book, so many people are recommending it and he is such an amazing grace filled person. And yes, Osheta Moore’s series of prayers is beyond words. I read them every day and am moved and inspired.

Leave a Reply

