Hero

I’ll be honest: This prompt was tough for me. The word “hero” often causes me to cringe; I feel it’s so overused. The local news segment on everyday heroes invariably include the categories of teacher, soldier, firefighter, grandparent. People rarely cite their accountant, dentist, garbage collector, or lawyer as their everyday heroes.

Frank feels I need to broaden my definition of hero. I tend to think the title should only go to people who catch babies falling from burning buildings. He’s more generous: People who nobly influence our lives are heroes. The teacher who helps a child understand that quarter past 1:00 is not 1:25; the garbage collector who leaves the bin standing upright; the dental hygienist who takes the time to gently scrape the plaque away, rather than digging at it. My view is that they are simply doing their jobs; His is that they are taking the time to do the best at their job.

Since I am a goal-oriented person, and since I love the art of handwritten notes, I decided to take this as a challenge. Over the next few months, I want to look for true everyday heroes in my life and write them a thank-you note. Maybe it’s about time the garbage collector knew how much I appreciate an upright bin.

Linked with Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday, a time to sit and write without editing for 5 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Hero

  1. It is all a question of how they do their jobs. Does the garbage collector just throw the bin back on the sidewalk with no thought to pedestrians? Or does he help out those in the street whom he knows are unable to bring the bins right on the edge of the walk on collection day. Sometimes it is more than doing the job. A teacher needs to help the child understand certain concepts – it is the way in which it is done that is important: is the child encouraged, or broken, by the comments the teacher makes on his/her ability.
    (headed over from FMF)

  2. LOVE the idea of writing a thank you note to the heroes in your life. What a gift that will be for them. Stopping over from Five Minute Friday. Here’s mine if you get a chance to read. –> http://wp.me/p39Wdr-bR Have a great weekend. P.S. Following you now as well (we are both on wordpress) 🙂

  3. What a great idea to send thank you notes to those who bless us. I think there are those in every profession who are just doing there job and there are those who are a blessing because they do their job with excellence.

Leave a Reply

