One Word: Grace

My name means “grace” and I’ve always thought this was inaccurate. Growing up, I perpetually had bruises from playing and, as an adult, from working among the shin-height desks and chairs of second graders. When I was 8 months pregnant, we were walking around our neighborhood park. I was looking at a newly constructed house and missed the curb. Normally, I would have stumbled, but since my center of gravity was so skewed, I tumbled down onto the sidewalk, skinning my knee and elbow in the process. Last summer, I had Bea in the Ergo and missed the first step of a flight of stairs, again tumbling down. Fortunately, Bea was tucked in tightly and I just hit my elbow and hip. All that to say, I’ve never viewed myself as a graceful person.

The word grace has about 15 definitions – from elegance of motion to mercy to honor. Grace has always been a struggle for me. I tend to hold myself and others to high standards and get frustrated when they are not met. In thinking about the New Year, I wanted to have One Word to define my year; one to meditate on, to strive to be better at, and to underlie my experiences.

As we move into our next year of parenting, I want Grace to define how I treat myself and Bea as we learn together. I want Grace to encompass my marriage as we navigate a relationship with a toddler in its midst. I need Grace for those moments when parenting is the last thing I want to do and for those moments when it is a taste of heaven.

I need Grace for my community. For my friends, both with and without kids; single and married. For people I see weekly and for those who live across the world. I need Grace for my church, for my neighbors, for the people in the grocery store parking lot. I need Grace for how I compare myself to other moms; for how I compare my life to those around me.

Mostly, I need Grace in ways I can’t even imagine. This year, I want to be open to the amazing power of Grace.

If you could choose One Word for your coming year, what would it be?

10 thoughts on “One Word: Grace

  1. Funny, I would say that grace describes your heart perfectly. Love this and am going to take a walk and find my word for 2014. Thanks, Annie,

  2. I’m a fellow girl named “grace” (anna) and I can resonate with not feeling like I live up to its meaning. I look forward to following along with your One Word journey this year. Blessings to you and your family and happy new year! 🙂

  3. Opportunity. New job, new man (the even idea of being committed to one!), I think my world has a lot of possibilities this year.

  4. Hi Annie, I think my one word for 2014 would be “metamorphosis.” I feel like a caterpillar that’s been in the cocoon far too long. It’s time for the inward transformations I’ve been making to break out and soar like a beautiful butterfly.

Leave a Reply

