Five-Star Books of 2013

This year, I read a record of 36 books. (And am hoping to finish a couple more before the year is over.) Of those 36 books, 13 received a 5-star rating. Some are classics; some were published this year. Most were new, though a couple were rereads. I thought I’d list some of my top books of this year:

The Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times by Jennifer Worth
I have been a fan on the BBC rendition of this beautiful memoir. The first of a series of three (all worth reading), Jennifer Worth really captures an interesting transition to public healthcare in 1950’s London. Worth’s writing style creates an amazing empathy with the people living in the slums of the West End.

Torn: Rescuing the Gospel from the Gays-vs.-Christians Debate by Justin Lee
No matter what your views are regarding marriage equality or whether being gay is a “sin,” this book is a must-read. It explores the journey of one young man coming to terms with his sexuality. It is well-written and gracious to his life experiences.

Baby Meets World: Suck, Smile, Touch, Toddle by Nicholas Day
A history of parenting, this book put me at ease about any parenting compromises I’ve made with Bea. (Why worry about a pacifier? She’ll find a way to soothe herself.) It’s fascinating to see how the trends in parenting have changed over the years and how resilient the human race is. Even if you’re not a parent, it’s a fascinating look at how philosophies of children as a group have changed.

Children Playing Before a Statue of Hercules edited by David Sedaris
I love short stories in general, but this collection of David Sedaris’ favorite and/or influential authors was wonderful. It’s a great mix, including Flannery O’Connor, Alice Monroe, and Jhumpa Lahiri. Seemingly unrelated, it’s an interesting glimpse into the authors who have influenced Sedaris’ funny and unique style.

As Always, Julia: The Letters of Julia Child and Avis DeVoto by Joan Reardon
What a beautiful story of friendship! Not only an interesting look into the world of publishing and politics, it’s a journey of two strangers becoming lifelong friends. When I finished, I hoped my friendships would last as long as Julia and Avis’ and be as open and meaningful.

I have a few more books I’m currently reading and hoping to finish before the year’s end, two of which I’m certain will earn 5-star ratings. Check out my Goodreads profile for all 13 5-star books, as well as the other good 3- and 4-star books I read this year.

What amazing books have you read this year? How many books do you read, on average?

2 thoughts on “Five-Star Books of 2013

Leave a Reply

