Fly

I grew up in a conservative town, went to a conservative church, and was surrounded by conservative ideas. When I graduated from high school, I wanted to experience something completely different – something as far removed from my home as possible. I picked a 4-year university located in the heart of Paris. Paris is anything but conservative. I learned new, exciting world views, from religion and politics to social justice and living out my faith. I found a place that welcomed the questions that had not been so welcome in high school. I grew and changed. And, I missed my home. After four years, I returned. Not to the same town, but to the same state. I realized that, while I needed to go, experience, question, discover, I also needed to come back, digest, process, and settle in.

Now, (ten years later!) with a family and a house it’s not as easy to just pick up and leave when a change is needed. We’ve had to figure out how to explore and discover while physically staying here. It seems challenging at times, but I find it’s still so important to allow my ideas, my point of view, and my set ways fly to a new perspective.

Linked with Lisa-Jo Baker‘s Five Minute Friday.

5 thoughts on “Fly

  1. That’s amazing! So brave- that same braveness that carried you to Paris- that will press your heart forward to be yourself in the home and community you’ve chosen. Visiting from FMF!

  2. Your comment..”settle in” really resonates with me. I started a new job in March and the transition has been a struggle. I have wanted to fly away and be a bird so many times. Only, the real thing I needed to do was “settle in” to my new reality. I also needed to figure out ways to explore and discover while physically staying in the very place where I am. Have an awesome weekend.

Leave a Reply

